Pilipino Musical Directors Association Inc.

PILMUDA-LOGO.jpgAlmost simultaneously with the creation of the Film Academy of the Philippines in 1982, the United Film Musical Directors’ Association of the Philippines (UFIMDAP) was organized with the first set of officers that included Prof. Josefino Cenizal, the late Ernani Cuenco, Willy Cruz, Restie Umali and Ryan Cayabyab.

The UFIMDAP membership soon counted with the who’s who of musical scoring in the local film industry. The other members who became members through the years included Pablo Vergara, Jun Garlan, Mon del Rosario, Vehnee Saturno, Jaime Fabregas, Nonong Buencamino, Domingo Safe, Mar Lopez, Brando Juan, Blitz Padua, Joseph Lansang, Vincent de Jesus and Von de Guzman.

Since it was organized, the UFIMDAP has consistently held an annual seminar-workshop to orient and acquaint its members with state-of-the art technology in the field of musical scoring and composing, usually through the subsidy of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

There was a time when several members of UFIMDAP resigned en masse from the guild to organize a separate group of musical directors but they were not able to secure approval from the Security and Exchange Commission. The UFIMDAP is still the legal organization recognized by the Film Academy of the Philippines.

Today, the guild is inviting new musical scorers/directors—especially those involved in digital indie films—to register with the UFIMDAP. They have only to file their membership forms at the guild at the Film Academy of the Philippines office at 4th Floor MOWELFUND BLDG., #66 Rosario Drive corner Ilang-Ilang St., Cubao Q.C. Please get in touch with Mr. Pablo Vergara from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. during weekdays.

PILMUDA Officers

Mar Lopez
Vice President
Domingo Zafe

Ernie Cruz
Nilo de Castro

Board Members

Manny Ruta Jun Carlos Victoria Cacnio

Boy Christopher Alexander Socorro Jun Garlan

Brando Juan Rene Alon Mon del Rosario

Consultant: Alex Socorro