Aug 15
26TH LUNA AWARDS ON SEPTEMBER 28 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Aug 15, 2008

The Film Academy of the Philippines and Manio Events management have finally set the 26th Luna Awards on Sunday, September 28.

According to Rico Gonzales of Manio Events Management, the awards night will be held at the Functions Rooms 1 and 2 of the SMX Convention Center of Mall of Asia in Pasay City,

The red carpet activities will start at 4 p.m. while the awards proper will unfold from 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. The awards night will be telecast on Saturday, October 4 over Studio 23 from 10 p.m. to 1 a.m.

The announcement of nominees will be held on Friday, August 29 at the SM Megamall Cinema lobby from 6 to 7 p.m. Director General Leo Martinez will make the announcement with an actress.

The event will be aired live—specially the nominees of six major categories– through primetime newscast as news teams from TV Patrol, 24 Oras and Studio 23 will be invited to cover the event. The six categories are best picture, best director, best actor, best actress, best supporting actor and best supporting actress.

A nominees’ night to honor and give recognition to all nominees in all categories will be held, possibly at SM Mall of Asia a week before the awards night. Mini trophies of the Luna Award—or Lunettes—will be given to all nominees during the dinner event.

During the 26th Luna Awards night, the Academy will bestow honors and recognition on four film industry stalwarts, including Golden Reel awardee former President Joseph Estrada; Manuel de Leon Award recipient Director Cirio Santiago; FPJ Lifetime achievement awardee Ms. Boots Anson-Roa, MOWELFUND executive director; and Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award (posthumous) recipient sound engineer Juanito Clemente.

There had been only two Golden Reel awardees in the history of the Film Academy—President Corazon C. Aquino in 1988 and the late King of Philippine Movies Fernando Poe Jr. in 2003.

Director-Producer Santiago was actually selected for the awards last year during the silver anniversary celebration of the FAP’s Luna Awards. But he requested that he be conferred the award this year.

In last year’s silver anniversary of the Luna Awards the awardees were:

–FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award—Director Celso Ad. Castillo and the now departed Actor-Producer Rudy Fernandez.

–Lamberto Avellana Memorial (Posthumous) Award—Actor-Director Manuel Conde and Actor Vic Silayan.

–Manuel de Leon Award—Wilson Tieng and Charo Santos.

The Academy had conferred the following awards during its 26 years of existence:

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD–Gerardo de Leon/director (1984);
Richard Abelardo/director and special effects, Consuelo ‘Ateng’ Osorio/director and writer, Luis Nolasco/producer, director and writer, Manuel Silos/director and Totoy Torrente/ special effects (1986); Juan Silos Jr./composer, William Smith/sound and color technology and Mary Walter/actress (1987);

Tita Duran/actress, Enrique Jarlego Sr./editor, Pancho Magalona/actor and Felipe Sacdalan/cinematographer (1988);Levi Celerio/lyricist and musician, Chichay/ actress, Bella Flores/actress and Leopoldo Salcedo/actor (1989);

Sen. Joseph Estrada/actor, producer, industry leader and Mowelfund founder and Amb. Rogelio de la Rosa/actor (1990); Lamberto Avellana/director, Manuel de Leon/producer and FAP founder andFernando Poe Jr./actor, director, producer, writer and industry leader (1991); Mike Accion/cinematographer, Eddie Infante/writer, actor and director and Rodolfo ‘Dolphy’ Quizon/actor and producer (1992);

Nora Aunor/actress and Espiridion Laxa/producer (1993); Victoriano R. Villanueva/actor and director (1994); Josefino Cenizal/musical director
and Pablo Santiago/director and producer (1995); Anita Linda/actress (1996); Rosa Rosal/actress and Vilma Santos/actress (1997); Eddie Garcia/actor and director (1998);

Tito Arevalo/musical director, Eddie Rodriqguez/actor, director and producer and Eddie Romero/writer, director and producer (2000); Dely Atay-atayan/actress and Rosario ‘Chuchi’ Hernandez/actress (2001); Gloria Romero/actress (2002); Susan Roces/actress (2003); Augusto ‘Totoy’ Buenaventura/writer and director (2004);

In 2005, the lifetime achievement award of the Film Academy was renamed the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award and the first recipient was Marichu Maceda/producer. In 2oo6, the 25th anniversary of the Luna awards, the recipients were Rudy Fernandez and Celso Ad. Castillo.


Lino Brocka/director (1990); Eddie Romero/writer and director (1994);Nicolas Deocampo/director (1995); Rosa Rosal/actress (1996); and Ben Pinga/film historian, filmmaker (1998).

SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD–Rita Gomez/actress, German Moreno/actor, Pugo & Togo/actors and Carmen Rosales/actress (1989);Ilagan clan, Padilla clan, Salvador clan, Sharon Cuneta/actress, Robin Padilla/actor, and Dr. Uwe Schmelter/Goethe Institute director (1990); Eric de Guia/director (1994); Luis Chiong/cinematographer and Carlos ‘Botong’ Francisco/artist, production designer (1995); and Rodolfo Velasco/Mowelfund executive director (2003).

POSTHUMOUS RECOGNITION AWARD–Lamberto Avellana/director (1990) and Charito Solis/actress (1997).

SPECIAL POSTHUMOUS AWARD–Armando Garces/director and Fernando Poe Sr./writer. director, actor and producer (1998).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at