Aug 15
NOMINATORS FINALIZE BEST FIVE BY AUGUST 22 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Aug 15, 2008

The eight boards of nominators will be finalizing their best five finalists on or before Friday, August 22. At least seven nominators already submitted their ratings to Ms. Raquel Paz and Lorna Balmes of the Luna Awards secretariat.

The 26th Luna Awards has been reset for September 28, 2008 (a Saturday), according to the production group, which has been contracted to handle the show, Manio Events Management headed by Mr. Moises Manio.

Two boards of nominators—for direction and production design—have scheduled deliberations after the long four-day holiday weekend.

There is a maximum of five nominators for each category except for the performance categories (lead and supporting), which can have a maximum of ten nominators. The list of nominators is as follows:

Direction — Emmanuel Borlaza, Mel Chionglo, William Mayo, Elwood Perez and Romy Suzara,

Screenplay — Lualhati Bautista, Manny Buising, Jose Carreon, Joen Chionglo and Raquel Villavicencio.

Cinematography — Eduardo Jacinto, Lee Meilly, JA Tadena and Romy Vitug.

Production design — Benjie de Guzman, Manny Morfe, Merlito Santos, Chito Sumera and Edel Templonuevo.

Editing — Renewin Alano, Manet Dayrit, Ferren Salumbides and Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao.

Music — Willy Cruz, John Lesaca,, Snafu Rigor and Mon del Rosario.

Sound — Joe Climaco, Rollie Ruta and Pacifico Sanchez.

Performance — Gina Alajar, Robert Arevalo, Harlene Bautista, Anna Capri, Liza Lorena, Glydel Mercado, Barbara Perez and Romnick Sarmenta,

The nominators are considering the list of at least 10 outstanding achievements made by the boards of citers which were tabulated by the Cedilla, Villarey & Associates accounting firm and submitted to FAP Director-General Le Martinez.

The tabulated list of cited performers and artists is as follows:

Direction — Cesar Apolinario (Comguild Productions’ Banal); Joel Lamangan (Regal Entertainment’s Bahay Kubo/Despadas/Happy Hearts/Seiko Films’ Silip); Jose Javier Reyes (Star Cinema’s Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); Maryo J. de los Reyes (Star Cinema’s A Love Story); Eddie Romero (Eddie Romero Foundation’s Faces of Love); Neal ‘Buboy’ Tan (Artiste Entertainment Works International Inc.’s Ataul for Rent); and Jun Urbano (Onabru Productions’ Ang M.O.N.A.Y. ni Mr. Shooli).

Screenplay — Vic Acedillo Jr. (Philippine Company of Performing Arts’ Batad: Sa Paang Palay); Mel Mendoza del Rosario (Star Cinema’s I’ve Fallen for You); Carmi G. Raymundo & Vanessa Valdez (Star Cinema’s One More Chance); Murphy Red & Bong Ramos (Sizzling Gambas Productions’ Haw-Ang (After the Harvest); Jose Javier Reyes (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); Mark Reyes (Imus Productions’ Resiklo); Eddie Romero & Rica Arevalo (Faces of Love); Allan Tijamo (Regal Entertainment’s My Kuya’s Wedding); Jun Urbano (Ang MONAY ni Mr. Shooli); and Vanessa R. Valdez (A Love Story).

Lead Actor — Marvin Agustin (Daddy’s Angel episode of Eagle Eye Productions’ Angels); Ken Chu (GMA Films/Ignite Media’s Batanes); Paolo Contis (Banal); John Lloyd Cruz (One More Chance); Jinggoy Estrada (Maverick Films’ Katas ng Saudi); Richard Gutierrez (Regal Entertainment’s The Promise); Sam Milby (Star Cinema’s You Got Me); Aga Muhlach (A Love Story); Piolo Pascual (Star Cinema/Viva Films’ Paano Kita Iibigin); and Joel Torre (Ataul for Rent).

Lead Actress — Ai-Ai de las Alas (Star Cinema’s Ang Cute ng Ina Mo); Bea Alonzo (One More Chance); Iza Calzado (Batanes); Jacklyn Jose (Ataul for Rent); Judy Ann Santos (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); Maricel Soriano (A Love Story/Bahay Kubo); Lorna Tolentino (Katas ng Saudi); Regine Velasquez (Paano Kita Iibigin); and Diana Zubiri (Silip).

Supporting Actor — Nash Aguas (Daddy’s Angel episode of Angels); Alchris Galura (Batad: Sa Paang Palay);Ronnie Lazaro (Ataul for Rent); Leo Martinez (Ang MONAY ni Mr. Shooli); Zanjoe Marudo (You Got Me); Pen Medina (Banal); Wendell Ramos (Happy Hearts); Dante Rivero (A Love Story); and Roi Vinzon (MP Promotions’ Anak ng Kumander/Resiklo);

Supporting Actress — Irma Adlawan (Ataul for Rent); Eugene Domingo (Bahay Kubo/Katas ng Saudi/Paano Kita Iibigin); Angelica Panganiban (A Love Story); Gina Pareno (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); Francine Prieto (Sulip); and Maja Salvador (One More Chance).

Cinematography — Rodolfo Aves Jr. (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); Jun Dalawis (Anak ng Kumander); Marissa Floirendo (The Promise); Rey de Leon (Ang MONAY ni Mr. Shooli); Jay Linao (Banal); Lito Mempin (Katas ng Saudi); Charlie Peralta (Bahay Kubo); Monchie Redoble (Batanes); Manuel Teehankee (One More Chance); and Renato de Vera (Ataul for Rent).

Production Design — Rodell Cruz (Resiklo); Blanca Dadivas & Felixberto Besina (Haw-Ang); Cyrus Khan (Batanes); Edgar Martin Littaua (Bahay Kubo); Ma. Asuncion Torres & Anna Carmela Manda (Viva Films’ Ang Lalake sa Parola); Mitoy Sta. Ana (OctoArts Films/M-Zet Productions’ Enteng Kabisote 4); Fritz Silorio (Daven Productions’ Signos); and Willie Urbino (Ataul for Rent).

Editing — Danny Anonuevo (Banal); Vito Cajili (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); Aleks Castaneda & Jay Halili (Resiklo); Marya Ignacio (Bahay Kubo/One More Chance/GMA Films & Viva Films’ Ouija/Paano Kita Iibigin/You Got Me); Tara Illenberger (A Love Story); and Jess Navarro (Silip).

Music — Jobin Ballesteros (Faces of Love); Carmina Robles Cuya (Ouija); Allan Feliciano & Arnold Buena (Resiklo); Von de Guzman (Bahay Kubo); Vincent de Jesus (Happy Hearts); Jesse Lucas (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); and Tris Suguitan (Anak ng Kumander).

Sound — Ditoy Aguila (Ouija); Ditoy Aguila &Junel Valencia (Resiklo/The Pro-mise/Batanes); Albert Michael Idioma (A Love Story/Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo); Mark Locsin & Herbert Relagio (Batad: Sa Paang Palay); Doday Ongleo, Fred Fonaz, Edward Martinez & JM Ongleo (Haw-Ang); Arnold Reodica (Desperadas); and Addiss Tabong (Katas ng Saudi).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at