Aug 01
MARTINEZ, LAXA, MORFE RE-ELECTED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Aug 1, 2008

Leo Martinez, Atty. Espiridion Laxa and Manny Morfe were re-elected as director-general, chairman and treasurer, respectively, of the Film Academy of the Philippines while Wilson Tieng replaced Jesse Ejercito as deputy DG during elections by the board of governors last Wednesday, July 30.

All officers were elected unopposed for their positions. Former Deputy Director General Ejercito had announced he was not running for the position days before the elections paving the way for the unanimous selection of Tieng, the president of the Movie Producers Distributors Association of the Philippines.

The new set of officers will serve up to July, 2011. Senior Adviser Eddie Romero, National Artist for Films, and Adviser Robert Arevalo were the election committee chairmen.

Those who voted during the July 30 board meeting included: Pagsanjan Mayor E.R. Ejercito, president of the Kapisanan ng mga Artistang Pilipino sa Pelikula at Telebisyon (KAPPT); William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors Association (PMPDA);

Manny Nuqui, chairman of the Philippine Motion Picture Producers’ Association (PMPPA); Ramon Ramos, representing the Movie Producers and Distributors Association of the Philippines (MPDAP); Pablo S. Gomez, president of the Screenwriters’ Guild of the Philippines;

Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines, Inc. (UFEGPI); Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers’ Guild of the Philippines (PDGP);

Rolly Ruta, president of the Sound Technicians’ Association for Motion Pictures (STAMP); Isagani Sioson, president of the Filipino Society of Cinematographers (FSC); Joel Apuyan, president of the Assistant Directors and Production Managers Guild (ADPM); and Zahn Garduce, president of the Organization of Specialized Filmmakers (OSFILM).

The Academy was established in 1981 by Executive Order No. 640-A. Its principal functions are: to give recognition and awards to film artists, technicians and workers for their outstanding performances and achievements; and to serve as the umbrella organization for all guilds in the Philippine motion picture industry with the responsibility to supervise and coordinate their activities.

Under the wings of the Academy are three vital institutions: the Mowelfund, the Mowelfund Film Institute; and the Cinema Values Re-orientatiton Program (CVRP) of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

The Academy also has the following additional functions:

 It helps manage and stage the annual Metro Manila Film Festival Philippines.

 It chooses the country’s entry to the foreign language film category of the Oscar
Awards, as well as other film festivals abroad.

 It sends delegates to some foreign film festivals, such as the Asean and Asian Pacific film festivals.

 It collaborates with the government-run Film Development Council of the Philippines which operates the Cinema Evaluation Board, the International Film Festival Committee (IFFCOM) and the Philippine Film Export Services Office.

In its 26 years of existence, the Academy has made a significant number of solid accomplishments, foremost of which is its unique success in instituting a strong unity of purpose among all the movie guilds and their constituents.

Your FEEDBACK can also be posted at