Jul 25
TWO MORE LUNA AWARDS SPECIAL AWARDEES by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 25, 2008

The Board of Governors of the Academy decided to bestow honors and recognition on two more film industry stalwarts who will receive their awards together with Golden Reel awardee Former President Joseph Estrada and Manuel de Leon Award recipient Director Cirio Santiago during the 26th Luna Awards scheduled in September.

Ms. Boots Anson-Roa, MOWELFUND executive director, will be given the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award while relatives of sound engineer Juanito Clemente will receive the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award (posthumous) trophy for the late sound engineer.

The decision was made during the monthly BOG meeting last Wednesday July 23. Earlier on May 29, the BOG resolved to award the Golden Reel trophy to President Estrada and the Manuel de Leon Award (special recognition) to Director-Producer Cirio Santiago.

Ms. Boot Anson-Roa was chosen from among nine nominees for the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award. The others were Actor-Director Robert Arevalo, Director-Writer Carlo Caparas, Actor Charlie Davao, Actor Berting Labra, Actress Mona Lisa, Actor German Moreno, Actress Caridad Sanchez and Actress-Producer Charo Santos.

Aside from eventual winner Juanito ‘Nitoy’ Clemente, the others nominated for the posthumous Lamberto Avellana Award were: Actor George Estregan Sr., Director Joey Gosiengfiao, Musical Scorer Blitz Padua, Producer Joey Pineda, Cameraman Nonong Rasca, Sound Engineer Ramon Reyes Jr., Cameraman Felipe Sacdalan Jr., Dirctor Carlos Vander Tolosa, Actor Ace Vergel, Comedian-Singer Yoyoy Villame and Comedian Ramon Zamora.

There had been only two Golden Reel awardees in the history of the Film Academy—President Corazon C. Aquino in 1988 and the late King of Philippine Movies Fernando Poe Jr. in 2003.

Director-Producer Santiago was actually selected for the awards last year during the silver anniversary celebration of the FAP’s Luna Awards. But he requested that he be conferred the award this year.

In last year’s silver anniversary of the Luna Awards the awardees were:

FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award— Director Celso Ad. Castillo and the now departed Actor-Producer Rudy Fernandez.

Lamberto Avellana Memorial (Posthumous) Award— Actor-Director Manuel Conde and Actor Vic Silayan.

Manuel de Leon Award— Wilson Tieng and Charo Santos.

The Academy had conferred the following awards during its 26 years of existence:

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD— Gerardo de Leon/director (1984);Richard Abelardo/director and special effects, Consuelo ‘Ateng’ Osorio/director and writer, Luis Nolasco/producer, director and writer, Manuel Silos/director and Totoy Torrente/ special effects (1986); Juan Silos Jr./composer, William Smith/sound and color technology and Mary Walter/actress (1987); Tita Duran/actress, Enrique Jarlego Sr./editor, Pancho Magalona/actor and Felipe Sacdalan/cinematographer (1988); Levi Celerio/lyricist and musician, Chichay/ actress, Bella Flores/actress and Leopoldo Salcedo/actor (1989);

Sen. Joseph Estrada/actor, producer, industry leader and Mowelfund founder and Amb. Rogelio de la Rosa/actor (1990); Lamberto Avellana/director, Manuel de Leon/producer and FAP founder and Fernando Poe Jr./actor, director, producer, writer and industry leader (1991); Mike Accion/cinematographer, Eddie Infante/writer, actor and director and Rodolfo ‘Dolphy’ Quizon/actor and producer (1992);

Nora Aunor/actress and Espiridion Laxa/producer (1993); Victoriano R. Villanueva/actor and director (1994); Josefino Cenizal/musical director and Pablo Santiago/director and producer (1995); Anita Linda/actress (1996); Rosa Rosal/actress and Vilma Santos/actress (1997); Eddie Garcia/actor and director (1998);

Tito Arevalo/musical director, Eddie Rodriqguez/actor, director and producer and Eddie Romero/writer, director and producer (2000); Dely Atay-atayan/actress and Rosario ‘Chuchi’ Hernandez/actress (2001); Gloria Romero/actress (2002); Susan Roces/actress (2003); Augusto ‘Totoy’ Buenaventura/writer and director (2004);

In 2005, the lifetime achievement award of the Film Academy was renamed the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award and the first recipient was Marichu Maceda/producer. In 2oo6, the 25th anniversary of the Luna awards, the recipients were Rudy Fernandez and Celso Ad. Castillo.

LAMBERTO AVELLANA MEMORIAL AWARD— Lino Brocka/director (1990); Eddie Romero/writer and director (1994); Nicolas Deocampo/director (1995); Rosa Rosal/actress (1996); and Ben Pinga/film historian, filmmaker (1998).

SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD— Rita Gomez/actress, German Moreno/actor, Pugo & Togo/actors and Carmen Rosales/actress (1989);Ilagan clan, Padilla clan, Salvador clan, Sharon Cuneta/actress, Robin Padilla/actor, and Dr. Uwe Schmelter/Goethe Institute director (1990); Eric de Guia/director (1994); Luis Chiong/cinematographer and Carlos ‘Botong’ Francisco/artist, production designer (1995); and Rodolfo Velasco/Mowelfund executive director (2003).

POSTHUMOUS RECOGNITION AWARD— Lamberto Avellana/director (1990) and Charito Solis/actress (1997).

SPECIAL POSTHUMOUS AWARD— Armando Garces/director and Fernando Poe Sr./writer. director, actor and producer (1998).

Your FEEDBACK can also be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/