Jan 17
NMPP ELECTIONS– SIX NEW DIRECTORS IN by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Jan 17, 2007

The Nagkakaisang Manggagawa ng Pelikulang Pilipino held its second ever elections for its 15-member board of directors as it starts its third year of operation at the Amoranto basketball stadium last Sunday, January 14.

In the election of officers which was held with the 15 winning board directors electing among themselves, Director Joel Lamangan, of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc., was re-elected president.

Six new directors were elected—Gina Alajar (Actors Guild of the Philippines or KAPPT), Dick Israel (Actors’ Guild), Amay Bisaya (Actors’ Guild Vice-President for External Affairs), Soxy Topacio (Directors’ Guild of the Philippines Inc.), Manny Morfe (president of the Production Designers’ Guild of the Philippines) and Director Tony Bernal.

The re-elected board directors were: Rez Cortez (Actors’ Guild); Baldo Marro; Josie Tagle; and Tony Reyes (DGPI President).

The re-elected officers, aside from Lamangan, were DGPI Director Emmanuel Borlaza, chairman of the board; Actors’ Guild’s Richard Gomez, vice-president for internal affairs; DGPI Director Carlitos Siguion-Reyna, vice-president for external affairs; and DGPI Director Mel Chionglo, treasurer. It is reported that scriptwriter-actress Raquel Villavicencio will be appointed as secretary.

In its first board meeting, the new directors formed several committees. These included: Way & Means (International) with Lamangan, Topacio and Israel as members; Ways & Means (Local) with Amay Bisaya, Reyes, Tagle, Israel and Bernal as members; Membership with Cortez, Borlaza and Israel as members; Sectoral with Alajar; Housing with Reyes and; the Cooperative. With Lamangan and Borlaza.

The result of the election is as follows:

R. Cortez, 472 votes; J. Lamangan, 445; G. Alajar, 427; R. Gomez, 415; D. Israel, 396; E. Borlaza, 394; B. Marro, 393; A. Bisaya, 378; M. Chionglo, 370; C. Siguion Reyna, 367; J. Tagle, 347; T. Reyes, 341; S. Topacio, 299; M. Morfe, 224; and T. Bernal, 200.

The 16th to 20th places were occupied by: Raquel Villavicencio, 180; Rey Solo, 163; Vic Felipe, 128; Director Rudy Mayer, 118 and Corazon Arboleda, 111.