Jul 04
CITERS COMPLETE REVIEWS; NOMINATORS UP by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 4, 2008

Most of the citers of this year’s 26th Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines have submitted their citations which will be tabulated to come up with at least 10 possible nominees in each category. The nominators will then take over to glean the final nominees of the 11 categories—from four best performances to best sound.

On Monday, June 30, the citers reviewed their last three films—Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Shake, Rattle & Roll 9, MP Productions’ Anak ng Kumander and Gawad Kalinga’s Paraiso…Tatlong Kwento ng Pagasa.

For the guidance of interested parties, we have been printing weekly the filmographies of the films screened in the past week.s Here are the filmographies of two of the last three films reviewed this week.

Shake, Rattle & Roll 9–Produced by Regal Entertainment Inc. Episode 1: Christmas Tree. Paul Y. Daza, direction; Enzo Valdez, Fairlane Raymundo & Paul Daza, story & screenplay; John Prats, Gina Alajar, Boots Anson-Roa, Tonton Gutierrez, John Lapus, Nash Aguas, Sophia Marie Baars & Lovie Poe, cast; Louie Quirino, cinematography; Edgar Martin Littaua, production design; Arnold Reodica, sound; Von de Guzman, musical score; and Ria de Guzman, editing. Episode 2: Bangungot. Michael Tuviera, direction; Roselle Monteverde-Teo, Michael Tuviera, Venjie Pellena & Fairlane Raymundo, story; Venjie Pellena & Fairlane Raymundo, screenplay; Dennis Trillo, Pauleen Luna, Roxanne Guinoo, Jaymee Joaquin, Jayson Gainza, Andrea Torrez, Eugene Domingo, Ernie Zarate, Barbie Forteza, Anna Tablizo, Nia Sacdalan & Ed Murillo, cast; Eli Balce, cinematography; Danie Nico Garcia & Raymund George Fernandez, production design; Bebet Casas, sound; Von de Guzman, musical score; and Michael Tuviera & Joseph Samata, editing. Episode 3: Engkanto. Topel Lee, direction; Roselle Monteverde-Teo & Andrew Paredes, story; Andrew Paredes, screenplay; Katrina Halili, Matts Evans, Melissa Ricks, Mart Escudero, Jewel Mische, Sam Concepcion, Felix Roco, Jojo Alejar, Nanding Josef, Hector Macaso & Carme Sanchez, cast; Louie Quirino, cinematography; Mark Sabas, production design; Bebet Casas, sound; Von de Guzman, musical score; and Ria de Guzman, editing.

Anak ng Kumander–Produced by MP Productions, Inc. Jose Kaka Balagtas, direction; Manny Pacquiao & Jose Kaka Balagtas, story; Rod Santiago, screenplay; Manny Pacquiao, Ara Mina, Roi Vinzons, Dante Rivero, Efren Reyes Jr., Pela Bautista, Valerie Concepcion, Lala Morena, Danny Labra, Cris Aguilar, Roldan Aquino, Dan Alvaro, Jess Sanchez, Palito, Rogelio Pacquiao & Long Mejia, cast; Jun Dalawis, cinematography, Junboy Alejandro, production design; Danny Lorilla & Angie Reyes, sound; Tris Suguitan, musical score; and Danny Anonuevo, editing.

The filmography for Paraiso, Tatllong Kwento ng Pagasa is incomplete and was not furnished by the producers, Gawad Kalinga with APT Entertainment, Inc., Arkeo Films Production and Unitel Pictures, Inc.

After the three-film screening last June 30, the citers from the different guilds received their accumulated honoraria/allowances which amounted to P142,275.

Sixteen citers posted a perfect attendance for the 17-day review while 11 citers attended the screening for 16 days and eight others logged 15 screening days.

The citers with perfect attendance were Roger Baruelo, Roger Estrada, Oscar Quirijero and Marcos ‘Jun’ Rasca (cinematography); Hernan Robles (direction); Cornelio Crisostomo (editing), Jun Gaerlan and Pablo Vergara (musical score); Robert Abihay, Tony Ramos and Ariel Reyes (non-category); Manny Rodriguez (screenplay); Tony Benavidez and Greg Ella (sound); and Charlie Davao and Rudy Meyer (performance).

The citers with 16 days of attendance were Arnold Alvaro and Isagani Sioson (cinematography); Danilo Gloria, Cielito Santillan, Rudy Tabotabo, Arcadio Vinarao and Francis Vinarao (editing); Ernie Cruz and Jayvee Gaerlan (musical score); Joel Apuyan (on-category); and Bert Vivar (performance).

Logging 15 screening days were Romulo Araojo and Ramon Marcelino (cinema-tography); Evelyn Baruelo (non-category); Franco Deocareza, Pablo Gomez and Nita Eden So (screenplay); and Achi Adamos and Rey Solo (pertformance).

A FAP timetable set July 15 as the date for the announcement of the 26th Luna Awards nominees and August 2 as a Nominees Night where all nominees in 12 categories will receive their Lunettes—statuettes smaller than but replicas of the real trophy.

After the citers selected their list of 10 possible nominees in their particular category (meaning directors cite their list of possible director nominees, the writers their list of scriptwriting nominees, etc.), the nominators will trim these lists to the final five or so nominees.

The voters will then take over and vote in all categories—from best picture to best sound. The awards night is tentatively scheduled on August 30, 2008.

Your FEEDBACK can also be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/