Jul 04
EIGHT 2008 MMFFP SCRIPTS CHOSEN by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 4, 2008

Eight out of 12 scripts submitted to the Selection Committee of the 2008 Metropolitan Manila Film Festival (Philippines) have been chosen as entries to the December festival.

The list was announced on Monday, June 30, after a two-day deliberation by the committee. They are:

Tanging Ina Nyong Lahat, a production of Star Cinema starring Ai-Ai de las Alas, Shaina Magdayao, Eugene Domingo, Carlo Aquino, Alwyn Uytingco & Jiro Manio. Directed by Wenn V. Deramas.

Escaleras and Ungasis (20 years after), a production of OctoArts Films starring Vic Sotto, Tito Sotto and Joey de Leon. Directed by Tony Y. Reyes.

Shake, Rattle & Roll 10, a production of Regal Entertainment Inc. starring JC de Vera, Mark Anthony Fernandez, Mylene Dizon, Jean Garcia, Bearwin Meily, IC Mendoza & Chariz Solomon. Directed by Mike Tuviera & Topel Lee.

Desperadas 2, a production of Regal Entertainment Inc. starring Ruffa Gutierrez, Rufa Mae Quinto, Marian Rivera, Iza Calzado, Wendell Ramos, TJ Trinidad, Will Devaughn and Jay R. Directed by Joel Lamangan.

One Night Only, a production of Canary Films starring Katrina Halili, Roxanne Ginoo and Rica Peralejo. Directed by Jose Javier Reyes.

Baler, a production of Viva Communication starring John Lloyd Cruz, Anne Curtis, Mark Bautista, Carlo Aquino and Desiree del Valle. Directed by Mark Meily.

Magkaibigan, a production of Maverick Films, Inc starring Jinggoy Estrada, Lorna Tolentino, Cherry Pie Picache and Aljur Abrenica. Directed by Jose Javier Reyes.

Dayo, a production of Cutting Edge Productions, an animated film featuring the voices of Nash Aguas, Katrina Legaspi, Michael V, Laurice Guillen, Pokwang and Johnny Delgado. Directed by Robert Quilao.

As previously decided by the Execom, eight films will be shown simultaneously starting from Christmas Day to January 7, 2009.

A calendar of deadlines was also distributed to the producers. This includes the following important dates to be followed by producers:

November 30 (Sunday)—Deadline for submission of trailers of official entries.

December 17 (Wednesday)—Submission of joint certfication with laboratories concerned that prints needed to service the theaters assigned to them shall be made available on time. Last day of submission of changes in the filmography charts, such as names of the leading performers and film genres.

December 17-21 (Wednesday to Sunday)—Screening of the official entries by the board of jurors.

December 24 (Wednesday)—Parade of Stars (Metro Manila).

December 25 (Thursday) to January 7, 2009 (Wednesday)—Showing of official entries.

December 28 (Sunday)—MMFFP 2008 awards night.

In the 2007 MMFF-P, nine films were entered with six films—Star Cinema’s Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo; OctoArts and M-Zet Productions’ Enteng Kabisote 4; Imus Productions’ Resiklo; Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Shake, Rattle & Roll 9; Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Bahay Kubo and Maverick Films’ Katas ng Saudi–opening on Christmas Day.

Three others films opened on January 1, 2008. These were Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Desperadas; MP Productions’ Anak ng Kumander; and Comguild Productions’ Banal.

The last festival’s total gross failed to approximate the MMFF-P 2006 records by grossing just P380 million in its two-week run.

The total gross for 2007 was P380,241,286 with Metro Manila theaters accounting for P266 million and provincial cinemas for P114 million.

The total gross for 2006 was P414,506,353 with Metro Manila theaters accounting for P302 million while provincial gross totaled P111 million.

Your FEEDBACK can also be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/