Mar 07
METRO FILMFEST 2007 LAUNCHING by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Mar 7, 2007

The 2007 Metro Manila Film Festival-Philippines, on its 33rd year, will be officially launched on Friday, March 9, at the Wack Wack Golf & Country Club in Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila. Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman Bayani Fernando will lead the launching.

Chairman Fernando reportedly told the filmfest executive committee to come up with the rules for the 33rd version of the Metro Filmfest and also to set up a meeting with producers on March 14 next week.

The Chairman explained that this will give those who wish to join the filmfest ample and sufficient time to come up with their scripts for submission possibly by May this year. Ten scripts will be selected and will be produced for the filmfest.

The launching will be simultaneously held with an appreciation dinner for the 2006 MMFF-P where shares of rebates from the amusement taxes will be granted to six beneficiaries and cash incentives and awards to entries and winners in last year’s filmfest.

MMDA Chairman Fernando will lead the official launching of the 2007 filmfest. He said he has suggested to the execom that previous best actor, actress and director winners in the past 32 years of the filmfest staging must be invited to the occasion.

Officials of the six beneficiaries, producers (especially of the nine entries in last year’s filmfest) MMDA officials and mayors and other officers of the 13 cities and four towns that comprise Metropolitan Manila are expected to attend the dinner ceremonies.

The six beneficiaries of shares in last year’s filmfest amusement taxes are MOWELFUND, the Presidential Social Fund of Malacañang, the Film Academy of the Philippines, the Film Development Council of the Philippines, the Movie Industry Anti-Piracy Organization, Inc. and the Optical Media Board.

A total of P4.1 million in cash will be given to all winners in the recent MMFFP 2006 awards as additional incentives.

The entries and their corresponding awards are the following:

ABS-CBN Star Cinema’s Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo—Gatpuno A. Villegas Culrural Award (P550,000); Second Best Festival Picture (P550,000); Best Director Jose Javier Reyes (P100,000); Best Scriptwriter Jose Javier Reyes (P100,000); Best Actress Judy Ann Santos (P100,000); Best Supporting Actress Gina Pareño (P50,000); Best Original Theme Song, Hawak Kamay (P50,000); Best Story (P50,000); 2nd Runner-Up Best Float (P100,000).

Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Mano Po 5 (Gua Ai Di)—Best Cinematographer Charlie Peralta (P50,000); Best Musical Scorer Von de Guzman (P50,000); Best Sound Recorder Ditoy Agila (P50,000); Best Production Designer Egay Littaua (P50,000); and 1st Runner Up Best Float (P300,000).

CM Films’ Ligalig—Best Actor Cesar Montano (P100,000); Best Supporting Actor Johnny Delgado (P50,000); and Best Editor Jason Cahaboy (P50,000).

Violett Films and MTL Films’ Tatlong Baraha—Best Visual Effects Imaginary Friends (P50,000); Best Make-Up Artist Baby Lucero (P50,000); and Best Float (P500,000).

Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Shake, Rattle & Roll 8—Third Best Festival Picture (P300,000); Best Child Performer Nash Aguas (P50,000).

OctoArts Films’ Enteng Kabisote 3—Best Festival Picture (P800,000).

Three other entries—namely Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Super Noypi and Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah and Canary Films’Matakot Ka sa Karma—will receive cash incentives.

All entries already received P1 million each from the Social Fund of the President duiring the awards night last December.