May 30
10 DOWN, 25 FILMS TO GO FOR LUNA CITERS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 30, 2008

As of May 30, Friday, the citers for the 26th Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines have screened ten of the 35 films they will be reviewing.

This week, the citers reviewed the following films–Daven Productions’ Signos, rated B; Eddie Romero Foundation’s Faces of Love, rated A; Seiko Films’ Silip, rated B; Seiko Films’ Foster Child, rated A; Comguild Productions’ Banal, rated B; and Imus Productions’ Resiklo, rated A.

According to awards secretariat members Raquel Paz and Lorna Balmes, there will be a total of 12 more screening days.

For the guidance of interested parties, we are printing weekly the filmographies of the films screened in that particular week. Here are the filmographies of the six films reviewed this week.

Signos—Produced by Daven Productions. Alfred Aloysius Adlawan, direction; Alfred Aloysius Adlawan, screenplay; Luis Alandy, Irma Adlawan, Lauren Novero, Nancy Castiglione and Ricky Davao, cast; Alma de la Peña, cinematography; Fritz Silorio, production design; Alfredo ‘Dodoy’ Gugleo, original music; Edward Martinez & Marlon Ongleo, sound; and Marvy de Guzman, editing.

Faces of Love—Produced by Eddie Romero Foundation. Eddie Romero, direction; Eddie Romero and Rica Arevalo, story and screenplay; Christopher de Leon, Juliana Palermo, Angel Aquino, Alfred Vargas, Bembol Roco, Roel Velayo, Mon Confiado, Chanda Romero, Jackie Aquino and Chinggoy Alonso, cast; Jun Aves, cinematography; Danny Red, production design; Zac Acebu & Jojo Jacinto, sound; Jobin Ballesteros, musical score; and Ron Dale, editing.

Silip—Produced by Seiko Films. Joel Lamangan, direction; Raquel Villavicencio, screenplay; Diana Zubiri, Polo Ravanes and Francine Prieto, cast; Romeo Vitug, cinematography; Edgar Martin Littaua, production design; Arnold Reodica, sound; Jobin Ballesteros, musical score; and Jess Navarro, editing.

Foster Child—Produced by Seiko Films. Brillante Mendoza, direction; Ralston Jover, story & screenplay; Cherry Pie Picache, Eugene Domingo, Jiro Manio, Alwyn Uytingco, Dan Alvaro and Kier Segundo, cast; Odyssey Flores, cinematography; Ben Padero, production design; Emmanuel Clemente, sound design; Arnold Reodica, sound re-recording; Jerrold Tarog, musical score; and Charliebebs Gohetia, editing.

Banal—Produced by Comguild Productions, Inc. Cesar Apolinario, direction ; Cesar Apolinario & Mac Cruz, story; Cris Lim & Cesar Apolinario, screenplay; Paolo Contis, Alfred Vargas, Christopher de Leon, Leo Martinez, Pen Medina, Roy Alvarez, Evangeline Pascual, Paolo Paraiso, Cassadra Ponti, Ina Alegre and Joey ‘Pepe’ Smith, cast; Jay Linao, cinematography; Trinka Lat, production design; Raffy Magsaysay, sound; Wacky Acosta, musical score; and Danny Añonuevo, editing.

Resiklo—Produced by Imus Productions. Mark Reyes. direction; Mark Reyes, story & screenplay; Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr., Dingdong Dantes, Jennylyn Mercado, Roi Vinzon. Mylene Dizon, Benjie Paras, Bobby Andrews, Michelle Madrigal, Paolo Contis, Jojo Revilla, Bryan Revilla, Luis Alandy, Chinggoy Alonzo, King Gutierrez and Cloyd Robinson, cast; Jay Linao, cinematography; Rodell Cruz, production design; Ditoy Aguila & Junel Valencia, sound; Allan Feliciano & Arnold Buena, musical score; Aleks Castañeda & Jay Halili, editing; Ryan Grimarez & Jay Santiago, visual effects; Erick Torrente, special live effects; Noel Flores, creatures & robots design; and Bill Gustilo, costume design.

A FAP timetable set July 15 as the date for the announcement of the 26th Luna Awards nominees and August 2 as a Nominees Night where all nominees in 12 categories will receive their Lunettes—statuettes smaller than but replicas of the real trophy.

The selection of winners of the Luna Awards is a three-tier process where citers, then nominators and finally voters will be involved.

Citers from the various guilds will select the best 10 or 15 performances and technical works after a series of previews of films shown in 2007. Directors will draw up their list of outstanding directorial works last year. Scriptwriters will pick the outstanding scripts last year. And so on and so forth for the other categories.

The nominators—who were previous winners in their categories –will select the final five nominees (or less) which will then be forwarded to the voters for their final decision. Like the citers, nominators will only decide on their own categories.

The voters, however, will be selecting the final winners in all categories which will include Best Picture, Director, Actor, Actress, Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Scriptwriter, Cinematographer, Editor, Production Designer, Sound Engineer and Musical Scorer.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at