Sep 26
FILIPINO FILMS SUBMITTED TO OSCAR AWARDS THROUGH THE YEARS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Sep 26, 2017

The Film Academy of the Philippines was designated by the Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences (AMPAS) to select the country’s nominee starting in 2007. AMPAS is the academy that bestows the annual Oscar Awards.

Beginning 2007, the FAP Oscar committee submitted the following films as nomination for the best foreign language film category of the Oscars:

2007—Donsol directed by Adolfo Alix Jr.
2008—Ploning directed by Dante Nico Garcia
2009—Ded na si Lolo directed by Soxie Topacio
2010—Noy directed by Dondon S. Santos
2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank directed by Marlon Rivera
2012—Bwakaw directed by Jun Lana
2013—Transit directed by Hannah Espia
2014—Norte, Hangganan ng Kasaysayan directed by Lav Diaz
2015—Ma Rosa directed by Brilliante Mendoza.

Before the Oscar Committee of FAP assumed this task, there had been 17 previous submissions of Filipino films to the best foreign language film category. Unfortunately up to now, no Filipino film has been selected as a final nominee though there were some instances that a local film was included in the shortlist prior to the final five.

The 17 previous submissions are herein listed chronologically:

1956—Anak Dalita directed by National Artist for Film Lamberto Avellana;
1961—The Moises Padilla Story directed by National Artist for Film Gerardo de Leon;
1967—Dahil sa Isang Bulaklak directed by Luis Nepomuceno;
1976—Ganito Kami Noon…Paano Kayo Ngayon? directed by National Artist Eddie Romero
1984—Karnal directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1985—Bayan Ko…Kapit sa Patalim directed by National Artist for Film Lino Brocka;
1995—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna;
1996—Segurista directed by Tikoy Aguiluz;
1997—Milagros directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1999—Saranggola directed by Gil Portes;
2000—Anak directed by Rory B. Quintos;
2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway directed by Gil Portes;
2002—Mga Munting Tinig directed by Gil Portes;
2003—Dekada ’70 directed by Chito Rono;
2004—Crying Ladies directed by Mark Meily;
2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros directed by Auraeus Solito.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at