May 30
QC SHORT FILM FESTIVAL IN AUGUST by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 30, 2008

The Quezon City Film Development Commission announced a Quezon City Short Film festival on August 24 to 30 this year as its first major project which will benefit young filmmakers who are still studying.

The commission met last Sunday, May 25, to tresh out the mechanics of the first ever filmfest a pet project of Mayor Sonny Belmonte and Vice-Mayor Herbert Bautista at the conference room of the Film Academy of the Philippines, OctoArts building, Panay Avenue.

The initial plan is to have at least six to ten shorts films in each of the five categories narrative, animation, experimental, documentary and music video. Entries should have at least a running time of one minute to 20 minutes.

The commission is offering P15,000 for the best short film in each category.

Nico Antonio, executive director of the film development commission, said that they had been holding a series of meetings with officials from UP Diliman, Ateneo de Manila, Miriam College, St. Paul College, Angelicum and Trinity Colleges since last year for this project.

The Q.C. Film Development Commission is composed of the following government officials and representatives from the film industry, listed as follows:

From city hall Majority Floor Leader Councilor Ariel Inton; Minority Floor Leader Councilor Jesus Suntay; Ms. Joy Belmonte-Alimurung, chairperson of the QC Performing Arts; Atty. Victoria Loanzon, Special Secretary to the mayor; Dr. Mary Ruby Palma, Executive Director, GAD Council; and Celario Santiago, president of the QC Press Club.

From the film industry—Mayor Jeorge E. Estregan, president of the Actors Guild of the Philippines; Director Tony Reyes, president of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines; Ms. Boots Anson-Roa, executive director of MOWELFUND; Engr. Roesholm Camaligan, president of the National Cinema Association of the Philippines; Pablo Gomez, president of the Screenwriters’ Guild of the Philippines; and Manny Nuqui, chairman of the Philippine Motion Pictures Producers Association.

From national government—Consoliza Laguardia, chairperson of the Movie and Television Regulatory and Classification Board; and Dr. Grace Javier-Alfonso, faculty coordinator for theater and extension services, UP Film Institute.

Meanwhile, the 2008 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival director Nestor Jardin recently announced the 10 short films vying for the filmfest’s P100,000 grant.

The short films are the following:

Andong directed by Rommel ‘Milo’ Tolentino

Ang Ibang Mga Pamilya directed by Joel R. Ruiz

Angan-Angan (Dreams) directed by Sheron R. Dayoc

Diamante sa Langit directed by Vic Acedillo Jr.

Huling Biktima directed by Vitaliano A. Rave

My Pet directed by Anna G. Bigornia

Only God Knows directed by Mark V. Reyes

Panggaris directed by Dexter B. Cayanes

Trails of Water directed by Sheron R. Dayoc

Tutos directed by I. A. Yamsuan

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at