Aug 29
SPECIAL AWARDS RECIPIENTS ATTEND 35TH LUNA AWARDS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Aug 29, 2017

Actor-Director Eddie Garcia, Quezon City Mayor Herbert ‘Bistek’ Bautista and Production Designer Dez Bautista attended the 35th Luna Awards to receive this year’s special awards from the Film Academy of the Philippines held last Saturday at the Resorts World Manila in Pasay City.

During the same event, Actress Lolita Rodriguez, Scriptwriter-Director Mario O’Hara and Bibsy Carballo were also given posthumous awards.

Actress Charo Santos-Concio and Director Lav Diaz were also given plaques of appreciation for their film Ang Babaeng Humayo. But both of them are out of the country for another film project abroad.

Hereunder are the texts of the three trophies for the Golden Reel Award, the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award and the Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements.

Golden Reel Award:

awards to


for his phenomenal career as an actor and director now almost seven decades long since he was chosen among hundreds of acting aspirants to appear in
the film Siete Infantes de Lara of Manuel Conde in 1949, before he became
the resident villain of Sampaguita Pictures of Dr. Jose Perez in 1951;

for the unbelievable transformations he had advanced in his film career when
he directed his first film in 1951, Karugtong ng Kahapon, then catapulted himself from supporting actor or main villain to lead actor in films in the 1960s like Sapagkat Kami’y Tao Lamang, De Colores and Tubog sa Ginto;

for his outstanding efforts to become an action star who was the most senior
of the country’s reigning action film heroes with box office credentials shortly before and during the decades of the 90s, including true-to-life films based on actual heroes like Boyong Manalac (1991), Mayor Latigo (1991) and Mariano Mison, NBI (1997);

for achieving the distinction of being the Filipino actor who appeared in
the most number of films during his career, which as of recent count accounts for more than 400 films;

for winning several Luna awards as best director for Magdusa Ka (1986), Saan Nagtatago ang Pagibig (1987) and Abakada Ina (2000) and for best actor for Death Row (2000) as well as numerous trophies from other award-giving bodies;

for capping his many earlier achievements with an unprecedented victory as best actor for Bwakaw at the 55th Asia-Pacific Film Festival in 2012, the first and still the only Filipino actor to win the Asia-wide competition.

Given this 26th day of August, 2017
at Resorts World Manila, Pasay City

The Fernando Poe Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award:

Is honored to grant this

for his genuine love of Philippine cinema, becoming an actor
when he was just 13-years-oldin the film Oh My Mama in 1981,
which was followed by youth-oriented films like Bagets, Hotshots,
Working Boys, Ninja Kids and Captain Barbell and many others;

for his achievement of winning the best actor award
for his role in the Manananggal episode of the first ever
Shake, Rattle and Roll film trilogy during
the 1984 Metropolitan Manila Film Festival;

for his continuing and unflagging support of Philippine cinema
even after he entered politics by becoming at the age of 24
a councilor of Quezon City in 1992, then becoming
the youngest vice-mayor of the same city three years later
and finally a three-term mayor starting in 2010;

for implementing programs as mayor that were envisioned
to support Philippine cinema on a citywide basis,
including the creation of the QC Film Development Commission
in 2012 and the holding of an annual QC Film Festival which began in 2013,
where he provided funds for the production of full-length films
megged by veteran and young directors;

for sponsoring during the annual Metropolitan Manila Film Festival
a special award for the best film with gender equality themes
and advocacies, as well as an essay-writing contest
among the public high school students of Q.C. on the same
gender equality films entered in the filmfest;

Given this 26th day of August, 2017
in Resorts World Manila, Pasay City

The Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements:

through its board of governors

In recognition of his career in local films principally as
a production designer who distinguished himself in re-creating
with vivid authenticity various periods in Philippine history,
including the 1920s colorum sect revolt in his first film which starred
Robert Arevalo and Boots Anson-Roa
though he also provided production design to contemporary period films
directed by Lino Brocka, Gil Portes, Mario de los Reyes, Joey Gosiengfiao
and Elwood Perez, among others;
for his efforts to bring production design to commercials, as well as
Independence Day parades with his incomparable historical recreations;
for serving as president of the Production Designers’ Guild of the Philippines
thereby spearheading substantive efforts with his colleagues to raise
production design as an indispensable facet in filmmaking
hereby bestows this


Given this 26th day of August , in the year of our Lord 2017,
at the Resorts World Manila,
Pasay City.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at