May 09
MOWELFUND LISTS WORKSHOP RESOURCE PERSONS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, May 9, 2008

A total of 37 resource persons including 12 directors will provide the lectures and hands-on practicum in the intensive 18-day filmmaking workshop of the Movie Workers Welfare Foundation, Inc. (MOWELFUND) which reels off on Monday, May 12 at its offices on 66 Rosario Drive, Cubao, Quezon City.

The workshop will cover all aspects of filmmaking, from acting to animation. Daily workshops and seminars will be held from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (with Sundays as the only breaks).

The MOWELFUND board of directors also announced that they are inviting two officers or members from each guild of the Film Academy of the Philippines to attend the workshop-seminar by waiving the registration fee for such participants.

The workshop is open to everybody, specially members of the local film industry who will be required to pay P12,000 for the 18-day seminar-workshop. Non-film industry members will have to pay P15,000 as registration fee. But all participants will have free meals daily.

The schedule of the workshop with the resource persons for each day is as follows:

May 12 (Monday)—Scriptwriting: Armando ‘Bing’ Lao, resource person.

May 13 (Tuesday)
—Production Management: Paolo Villaluna, Celso de Guzman and Andy Andico, resource persons.

May 14 (Wednesday)—Production Design: Manny Morfe and Cesar Hernando, resource persons.

May 15 (Thursday)—Cinematography: Surf Reyes, resource person.

May 16 (Friday)—Cinematography: Romy Vitug and Jun Pereira, resource persons.

May 17 (Saturday)—Cinematography: Raymond Red, resource person.

May 19 (Monday)—Acting: Gina Alajar and Boots Anson-Roa, resource persons.

May 20 (Tuesday)—Editing: Jess Navarro and Manet Dayrit, resource persons.

May 21 (Wednesday)—Editing: Danny Añonuevo and Jay Ramirez, resource persons.

May 22 (Thursday)—Directing: Carlitos Siguion-Reyna, Mark Meily and Emmanuel Borlaza, resource persons.

May 23 (Friday)—Directing: Eddie Romero, Tony Reyes and Lav Diaz, resource persons.

May 24 (Saturday)—Directing: Maryo J. de los Reyes, Mes de Guzman and Joel Lamangan, resource persons.

May 26 (Monday)—Directing: Mel Chionglo, Celso Ad. Castillo and William Mayo, resource persons.

May 27 (Tuesday)—Sound Record and Mix Class: Roly Ruta, resource person.

May 28 (Wednesday)—Musical Scoring and Direction: Mon del Rosario and Jong Cuenco, resource persons.

May 29 (Thursday)—Distribution and Marketing: Robbie Tan, Ric Camaligan and Wilson Tieng, resource persons.

May 30 (Friday)—Animation: Gerry Garcia, Benjie Marasigan and Nelson Caliguia, resource persons.

May 31 (Saturday)—Group Project Viewing and Graduation.

The seminar-workshop is actually undertaken by the MOWELFUND Film Institute (MFI). The MFI was established in 1979 with a long term commitment to the democratization of filmmaking through film literacy in response to the need to raise consciousness among filmmakers and their audience to foster a better film culture in the country.

The MFI is a one-of-a-kind film training center that caters to the needs of both mainstream and independent cinemas, adhering to the objectives of developing a wider base of filmmakers, alternative film venues, and wider film usage.

Since 1979, the MFI has been conducting summer workshops in filmmaking, particularly in the fields of scriptwriting, production design and art direction, cinematography, acting, editing and directing.


Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/