Mar 21
FIRST FAP SILVER ANNIVERSARY PROJECT ON MARCH 27 by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Mar 21, 2007

Hindi Kita Malimot…Kantang-Kanta, Piling Pelikula, one of the four major projects of the Film Academy of the Philippines to celebrate its silver anniversary this year, will be held on Tuesday, March 27, at the SM’s Mall of Asia complex.

Three other projects also to be held within the year include the annual Luna awards night and Salin Gamit, a fair where memorabilia from celebrities will be auctioned or sold. The fourth project is the Pelikulang Pampanitikan series which will translate into films Filipino literary masterpieces.

Hindi Kita Malimot… is a first-ever concert of award-winning movie theme songs which will feature the country’s top singers and performers and will be edited into a television special which will be aired on Channel 2.

FAP Director General Leo G. Martinez said that though the Luna awards will be the flagship and centerpiece project of this silver anniversary year, the FAP will also be deeply involved in the three other aforementioned activities.

The March 27 concert will be held at the One Esplanade Building at the SM Center Business Park, on Seaside boulevard corner Bay boulevard in Pasay City. A sitdown dinner will begin at 6 p.m. The concert starts at 9 p.m.

Directors William Mayo and Pablo Vergara who are the coordinators of the project said the concert is partially subsidized by the National Commission of Culture and the Arts.

The concert aims to focus on the immortal movie theme songs and their composers in one glorious night of singing starring personalities in both the film and music industries.

Among those who have already confirmed their participation in the concert are Pops fernandez (who will host the evening with FAP Director General Martinez), Senator Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr. and Lani Mercado, Pilita Corrales, Gary Valenciano, Basil Valdez,

Tirso Cruz III, Michael de Mesa, Ricky Davao, Dawn Zulueta, Andrew E, John Lloyd Cruz and Bea Alonso, Aiza Seguerra, Piolo Pascual, Jericho Rosales, Sam Milby, Rica Peralejo, Sarah Geronimo, Christian Bautista, Mark Bautista, Sheryn Regis, Pokwang, Jed Madela and Jett Pangan.

The list of award-winning songs to be featured in the concert include immortal classics like the following:

Ang Daigdig Ko’y Ikaw, Kahit Konting Pagtingin and Sapagka’t Kami’y Tao Lamang, by Levi Celerio and Antonio Maiquez;

Hihintayin Kita sa Langit, Kastilyong Buhangin, Misis Mo…Mister Ko, and Paano Ngayon Kung Wala ng Kahapon by George Canseco;

Bituing Walang Ningning, Kung Mahawi Man ang Ulap, May Minamahal, Init sa Magdamag and Sana’y Wala Nang Wakas by Willy Cruz;

Maging Sino Ka Man, Sinasamba Kita and Pangako sa Iyo by Rey Valera; Abandonada, Pangako ng Kahapon and Sana Maulit Muli by Vehnee Saturno; Hindi Kita Malimot by Prof. Josefino Cenizal; and Bakit Ako Mahihiya? by Pablo Vergara.

Tickets for the dinner-concert are also available at the Film Academy of the Philippines office at the OctoArts building on Panay avenue (behind the National Book Store branch). Please contact Anna or Vangie of the secretariat.