Sep 05
FAP OSCAR COMMITTEE CHOOSES MA’ ROSA by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Sep 5, 2016

The Film Academy of the Philippines committee tasked to choose the local film for submission to the 89th Oscar Awards has officially selected Ma’ Rosa as the Philippine entry to the best foreign language film category of this prestigious annual award. Ma’ Rosa was chosen by the 7-man committee over five other local films which were shown between October 2015 to September 2016. Ma’ Rosa started its commercial run last July 6, 2026.

The other films reviewed by the committee were Felix Manalo by Joel Lamangan; Honor Thy Father by Erik Matti; Hele sa Hiwagan Hapis by Lav Diaz; Dukot by Paul Soriano; Pamilya Ordinaryo by Eduardo Roy Jr.; Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli by Gil Portes; Tuos by Roderick Cabrido; and Ang Babaeng Humayo by Lav Diaz.

Ma’ Rosa was produced by Center Stage Productions and directed by Brillante Ma. Mendoza from a screenplay of Troy Espiritu. Jaclyn Jose played the lead role of Ma’ Rosa. She wpn the award for best actress at the 2016 Cannes Film Festival, besting Charlize Theron and Marion Cottilard. The film’s cast also included Julio Diaz, Baron Geisler, Mercedes Cabral, Andi Eigenmann, Mark Anthony Fernandez, Mon Confiado and Maria Isabel Lopez.

The Oscar committee of FAP was headed by Director-Editor Edgardo Vinarao, with the following as members: Jose N. Carreon, director-scriptwriter; Mike Sandejas, director; Lee Briones-Meily, cinematographer; Cheri Gil, actress; Michael de Mesa, actor; and Eddie Rocha, director-scriptwriter.

The FAP was designated by AMPAS to select the country’s nominee starting in 2007 with Donsol directed by Adolfo Alix Jr. being submitted.

The other submissions after this were the following:
2008—Ploning directed by Dante Nico Garcia; 2009—Ded na si Lolo directed by Soxie Topacio; 2010—Noy directed by Dondon S. Santos; 2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank directed by Marlon Rivera; 2012—Bwakaw directed by Jun Lana; 2013—Transit directed by Hannah Espia; and 2014—Norte, Hangganan ng Kasaysayan directed by Lav Diaz.

Before the Oscar Committee of FAP assumed this task, there had been 17 previous submissions of Filipino films to the best foreign language film category. Unfortunately up to now, no Filipino film has been selected as a final nominee though there were some instances that a local film was included in the shortlist prior to the final five.

The 17 previous submissions are herein listed chronologically:
1956—Anak Dalita directed by National Artist for Film Lamberto Avellana;
1961—The Moises Padilla Story directed by National Artist for Film Gerardo de Leon;
1967—Dahil sa Isang Bulaklak directed by Luis Nepomuceno;
1976—Ganito Kami Noon…Paano Kayo Ngayon? directed by National Artist for Film Eddie Romero;
1984—Karnal directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1985—Bayan Ko…Kapit sa Patalim directed by National Artist for Film Lino Brocka;
1995—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna;
1996—Segurista directed by Tikoy Aguiluz;
1997—Milagros directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1999—Saranggola directed by Gil Portes;
2000—Anak directed by Rory B. Quintos;
2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway directed by Gil Portes;
2002—Mga Munting Tinig directed by Gil Portes;
2003—Dekada ’70 directed by Chito Rono;
2004—Crying Ladies directed by Mark Meily;
2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros directed by Auraeus Solito.