Apr 15
MMFF ANNOUNCES NEW EXECOM, CRITERIA FOR ENTRIES by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Apr 15, 2016

Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman Emerson Carlos announced last Thursday, April 14, that the new Executive Committee (Execom) of the Metropolitan Manila Film Festival has voted to have finished film products as basis for selection of entries in the annual filmfest.

In previous years, the MMFF accepted screenplays as basis for the selection of entries. The move to revert to finished films as the basis for selection came up during the congressional hearings on the MMFF last January.

That adhered to the position of the Film Academy of the Philippines which pointed out that MMFF entries “must be selected not from scripts but from finished products.” Films, according to FAP Director General Leo G. Martinez, already “reflect the filmmaker’s vision and creativity in telling a story.”

“The submission of finished films will open the field and give chances to filmmakers who are not part of giant networks/producers to compete,” Martinez explained. “In effect, more film workers who are not necessarily tied to the networks/producers will also be given work opportunities,” he added.

The new criteria also reflect the MMFF’s three-pronged vision statement to become “a festival that celebrates Filipino artistic excellence, promotes audience development and champions the sustainability of the Philippine movie industry.”

MMDA Chairman Carlos described the new Execom as “a mix of the old and new, of people from private and government entities”. He noted that the members “are stakeholders of the film industry and nagmamahal sa pelikulang Pilipino.”

The new members of the MMFF Executive Committee arethe following:

Atty. Emerson S. Carlos, Chairman, MMDA; Police Supt. Rhoderick Armamento, (representing Joel Pagdilao of the Philippine National Police-National Capital Region Police Office); Eugenio Villareal (Movie and Television Review and Clasification Board chairman); Edward Cabagnot (Academe) ; Jessie Ejercito (producer); Teodoro Granados (Film Development Council of the Philippines executive director); Moira Lang (scriptwriter/producer); Bryan Ian Montances (representing Sen. Sonny Angara); Marcus Ng (vice-president of the Metro Manila Theaters Association); Boots Anson-Rodrigo (MOWELFUND president); Jun Romana (Bureau of Broadcast Services); Edgar Tejerero (president, SM Lifestyle Entertainment, Inc.); Wilson Tieng (president, Movie Producers Distributors Association of the Philippines); and Congressman Alfred Vargas.

The MMFF executive committee also made changes in the criteria for judging the entries which is as follows:
Forty percent for story, audience appeal, and overall impact
40 percent for cinematic attributes or its technical excellence
10 percent for global appeal
and 10 percent for Filipino sensibility.

The deadline for the submission of finished film entries to the 2016 Metro Manila Film Festival will be on September 28 at 5 p.m.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/