Dec 08
DGPI HOLDS 3RD GAWAD DIREK AWARDS ON DEC. 10 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Dec 8, 2015

The Directors’ Guild of the Philippines will hold its third Gawad Direk awards on December 8 in a three-events-in-one gathering at the Shooting Gallery Studios (formerly Unitel) at 3317 Zapote St. in Makati City.

The gathering, which will begin at 6 p.m., will also serve as the DGPI’s Christmas party and elections for a new board of directors.
DGPI President Joel Lamangan has extended an invitation to Film Academy of the Philippines Director-General Leo G. Martinez and the members of the FAP board of governors who are the presidents of the various guilds under the umbrella supervision of the Academy.

The awardees of the Third Gawad Direk are the following:
–Producer Lily Yu Monteverde of Regal Films
–Actress Susan Roces
–Directorial Tandem Peque Gallaga and Lore Reyes
–Director Kidlat Tahimik
–Scriptwriter Ricardo Lee
–Cinematographer Romeo Vitug

The awardees comprise the third group to be recognized by the DGPI for their contribution to Philippine cinema.
In the first ever Gawad Direk Awards on August 15, 2003 at the AFP Auditorium, the DGPI recognized the contributions to Philippine cinema of five directors, namely Emmanuel Borlaza, Luciano B. Carlos, Celso Ad. Castillo, Fernando Poe Jr. and Eddie Romero.
All awardees had passed away except for Director Borlaza. FPJ and Eddie Romero had since been declared National Artists for Film.
On Nov. 18, 2005, the 2nd Gawad Direk awarding was held at the Henry Lee Irwin theater (grade school auditorium) of Ateneo in Loyola.

The awardees were Director Augusto ‘Totoy’ Buenaventura, Actor-Director Eddie Garcia, Comedian-Producer Rodolfo V. Quizon (Dolphy), Actress Gloria Romero, Actress-Social-Welfare-Advocate Rosa Rosal and Producer-Actress-Singer Armida Siguion Reyna.
During the 2nd Gawad Direk, the DGPI decided to expand the field of awardees to include other film craftsmen and not confining itself to recognize awardees from the ranks of directors only.

The DGPI started its Gawad Direk awards nine years after its incorporation in 1994.

The present board include Joel Lamangan, president; Emmanuel Borlaza, chairman of the board; Mike Sandejas, vice-president;
Mac Alejandre, treasurer; Rica Arevalo, secretary; and Board Members Cesar Apolinario, Ruel Bayani (chairman of membership committee), Joyce Bernal, Ellen Ramos, Paolo Villaluna and Soxie Topacio.

The DGPI has just returned to the Film Academy of the Philippines, effective June 30, 2015.

The DGPI withdrew from the Academy on January 22, 2001. The then DGPI president was Jose Javier Reyes and the board chairman was Maryo J. de los Reyes. The late Directress Marilou Diaz-Abaya, the first DGPI president when it was organized in 1994, was still a member of the board of directors then.

In an official letter dated June 10, 2015, Martinez invited the guild to be part once more of the Academy, reiterating a similar invitation to the DGPI in 2009 when Tony Reyes was the president.

Since its organization 21 years ago, the DGPI had been headed by seven presidents, namely, Ms. Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1994-1996); Peque Gallaga (1997); Mel Chionglo (1998); Jose Javier Reyes (1999-2001); Carlitos Siguion-Reyna (2002-2004); Tony Reyes (2005-2013); and Joel Lamangan (2014 to present).

The policy to recruit young directors actually began in 2010 during the term of Tony Reyes.

Those inducted in 2010 included Adolph Alix, Jay Altarejos, Cesar Apolinario, Rica Arevalo, Ruel Bayani, Ronaldo Bertubin, Wenn V. Deramas, Dante Nico Garcia, Jun Lana, Chris Martinez, Ellen Ramos, Mike Sandejas, Joven Tan, Neal ‘Buboy’ Tan, Veronica Velasco and Paolo Villaluna.

Veteran Director Tikoy Aguiluz finally received the DGPI invitation to be a member with Jerrold Tarrog and Paul Soriano during the DGPI Christmas party and elections on Nov. 3, 2013.

The newest batch of DGPI members who were inducted last April 12, 2015 included Mae Cruz-Alviar, Sari Lluch Dalena, Louie Ignacio, Tara Illenberger, Clodualdo ‘Doy’ del Mundo Jr., Emmanuel ‘Manny’ Palo, Andoy Ranay, Armand Reyes, Eduardo ‘Roy’ Jr. and Alvin Yapan.

The veteran director members of the DGPI include Jose ‘Kaka’ Balagtas, Jose Carreon, Manny Castañeda, Uro de la Cruz, Nick Deocampo, Lav Diaz, Lauren Dyogi, Eddie Garcia, Frank Gray Jr., Quark Henares, Rico Ilarde;

Jeffrey Jeturian, Jess Lapid Jr., Jon-Dy Lazatin, Toppel Lee, Johnny Manahan, Baldo Marro, Erik Matti, Mark Meily, Toto Natividad, Ellen Ongkeko, Ricardo ‘Bebong Osorio, Ipe Pelino, Gil Portes, Jun Posadas;

Eric Quizon, Lore Reyes, Mark Reyes, Ronnie Ricketts, Joey Romero, Augusto Salvador, Rowell Santiago, Jerry Sineneng, Romy Suzara, Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao and Ben Yalung.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at