Sep 22
FAP OSCAR COMMITTEE CHOOSES HENERAL LUNA by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Sep 22, 2015

The Film Academy of the Philippines committee tasked to choose the local film for submission to the 88th Oscar Awards has officially selected Heneral Luna as the Philippine entry to the best foreign language film category of this prestigious annual award.
Heneral Luna was chosen by the 7-man committee over five other local films which were shown between October 2014 to September 2015. Heneral Luna started its commercial run last September 9.

The five other films reviewed by the committee were Hari ng Tondo by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna; starring Robert Arevalo; Taklub by Brillante Mendoza, starring Nora Aunor; The Janitor by Michael Tuvera, starring Dennis Trillo; That Thing Called Tadhana by Antoinette Jadaone, starring Angelica Panganiban and JM de Guzman; and English Only, Please by Dan Villegas, starring Jennylyn Mercado and Derek Ramsay.

Heneral Luna was produced by Artikulo Uno and directed by Jerrold Tarog from a screenplay of the late Henry Francia, E.A. Rocha and Jerrold Tarog. John Arcilla played the role of Gen. Antonio Luna. The film’s cast also included Mon Confiado (as Gen. Aguinaldo), Lorenz Martinez (as Gen. Tomas Mascardo), Epy Quizon (as Apolinario Mabini), Leo Martinez (as Pedro Paterno), Nonie Buencamino (as Felipe Buencamino), Bing Pimentel, Mylene Dizon, Perla Bautista with the special participation of Paulo Avelino (as Gen. Gregorio del Pilar).

The Oscar committee of FAP was headed by Director-Production Designer Mel Chionglo as chairman with the following as members: Edgardo Vinarao, director-editor; Jose N. Carreon, director-scriptwriter; Lee Briones-Meily, cinematographer; Lorna Tolentino, actress; Michael de Mesa, actor; and Ronaldo Tolentino, scriptwriter-film educator.

The FAP was designated by AMPAS to select the country’s nominee starting in 2007 with Donsol directed by Adolfo Alix Jr. being submitted.

The other submissions after this were the following:
2008—Ploning directed by Dante Nico Garcia; 2009—Ded na si Lolo directed by Soxie Topacio; 2010—Noy directed by Dondon S. Santos; 2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank directed by Marlon Rivera; 2012—Bwakaw directed by Jun Lana; 2013—Transit directed by Hannah Espia; and 2014—Norte, Hangganan ng Kasaysayan directed by Lav Diaz.

Before the Oscar Committee of FAP assumed this task, there had been 17 previous submissions of Filipino films to the best foreign language film category. Unfortunately up to now, no Filipino film has been selected as a final nominee though there were some instances that a local film was included in the shortlist prior to the final five.

The 17 previous submissions are herein listed chronologically:
1956—Anak Dalita directed by National Artist for Film Lamberto Avellana;
1961—The Moises Padilla Story directed by National Artist for Film Gerardo de Leon;
1967—Dahil sa Isang Bulaklak directed by Luis Nepomuceno;
1976—Ganito Kami Noon…Paano Kayo Ngayon? directed by National Artist for Film Eddie Romero;
1984—Karnal directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1985—Bayan Ko…Kapit sa Patalim directed by National Artist for Film Lino Brocka;
1995—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna;
1996—Segurista directed by Tikoy Aguiluz;
1997—Milagros directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1999—Saranggola directed by Gil Portes;
2000—Anak directed by Rory B. Quintos;
2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway directed by Gil Portes;
2002—Mga Munting Tinig directed by Gil Portes;
2003—Dekada ’70 directed by Chito Rono;
2004—Crying Ladies directed by Mark Meily;
2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros directed by Auraeus Solito.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at