Mar 07
DGPI EXTENDS PRESENT BOARD’S TERM FOR ANOTHER YEAR by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Mar 7, 2008

The Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc. (DGPI) has extended for another year the term of the present board of directors, led by Director Tony Reyes as president, in view of its ongoing Directors’ Series project—a first-ever joint undertaking of the DGPI and APT Entertainment which aims to produce six digital films with a P3 million budget each.

Also re-elected during elections held at the guild’s new office at 17-C Kamuning Road, Quezon City, last March 1 were: Mark Meily, Chairman of the Board; Soxie Topacio, Vice-President; Jose N. Carreon, Secretary; Mel Chionglo, Treasurer; and Board Directors Emmanuel Borlaza, Joel Lamangan, Maryo J. de los Reyes, Carlos Siguion-Reyna and Romy Suzara. Director Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao was elected to replace the late Director Joey Gosiengfiao.

Four standing committees of the guild were also formed. These are:

Education Committee with Soxie Topacio as chairman; and Mark Meily, Ellen Ongkeko, Gil Portes, Carlos Siguion-Reyna and Edgardo Vinarao, as members. (interested directors may still be accommodated as members in all committees).

Membership Committee with Joel Lamangan as Chairman; and Jose Carreon, Tony Reyes, Romy Suzara and Edgardo Vinarao, as members.

Grievance/Ethics Committee with Emmanuel Borlaza as Chairman; and Mel Chionglo and Rudy Meyer, as members.

Ways & Means Committee with Tony Reyes as Chairman; and Joel Lamangan, Francis ‘Jun’ Posadas and Romy Suzara, as members.

Before the elections, the membership of five new directors was approved. They included Directors Frank Gray Jr., Jess Lapid Jr., Toppel Lee, Baldo Marro and Michael Tuviera.

President Reyes announced that the first digital films selected for the Directors’ Series project will start shooting in March. This is Lechon Lauriat, written and directed by Lore Reyes.

Three other projects—Fuschia (written by Ricky Lee and directed by Joel lamangan); Bente (written by Ricky Lee and directed by Mel Chionglo); and Dead na si Lolo (written and directed by Soxie Topacio)—will then follow suit.

Two other scripts will complete the batch of six digital films and DGPI members have until March 14 to submit scripts in the genres of horror, love-romance and youth-oriented.

The six films will have their theatrical exhibitions in August, September and October, Reyes said.

The re-elected board has decided to correspond with the guild members in an effort to renew interest in guild activities and projects.

As of now the DGPI roster of members includes the following film directors:

Khryss Adalia, Mac Alejandre, Emmanuel Borlaza, Jose Carreon, Manny Castañeda, Celso Ad. Castillo, Mel Chionglo. Tony Cruz, Uro dela Cruz, Nick Deocampo; Lav Diaz, Lauren Dyogi, Don Escudero, Ben Feleo, Peque Gallaga, Eddie Garcia, Quark Henares, Rico Ilarde, JeffreyJeturian, Lupita Kashiwahara; Joel Lamangan, Jon-Dy Lazatin, Johnny Manahan, Erik Matti, Mark Meily, Brillante Mendoza, Rudy Meyer, Wilfredo Milan, Toto Natividad, Ellen Ongkeko; Ipe Pelino, Boots Plata, Gil Portes, Jun Posadas, Eric Quizon, Jose Javier Reyes, Lore Reyes, Mark Reyes, Maryo J. delos Reyes, Tony Reyes; Ronnie Ricketts, National Artist for Film Eddie Romero (honorary member), Joey Romero, Augusto Salvador, Cirio Santiago, Rowell Santiago, Carlos Siguion-Reyna, Jerry Sineneng, Romy Suzara, Soxie Topacio, Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao and Ben Yalung.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at