Feb 22
MMFF-P SYMPOSIUM RESET TO MARCH 8 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Feb 22, 2008

A symposium on how to further sustain the continued success of the Metropolitan Manila Film Festival (Philippines) through revisions on the festival rules has been reset from February 23 to March 8, 2008.

At least three officers or members from each of the 13 guilds and film organizations under the umbrella supervision of the Film Academy of the Philippines have been invited to attend the symposium

The rescheduled event will be held from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday, March 8, at the Manila City Room of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Building on EDSA corner Orense St., in Makati City.

The MMDA has already sent letters of invitation to all concerned guilds and film organizations.

The theme of the symposium is: The Problems of the Film Industry: How to Join and Earn from the MMFF-P. The Executive Committee of the Filmfest is expected to apprise the participants of the prevailing situation in the MMFF-P which failed to hit the P400 million gross last December and fell short of the P413 million gross in 2006. The 2007 gross was, however, still the second highest gross in filmfest history.

The symposium aims to come up with a plan of action to maximize patronage for the festival film entries, in particular, and for local movies to be shown outside the festival period, in general.

After the symposium, the MMDA will host an appreciation dinner party where cash prizes will be handed to the awardees. the 2008 MMFF-P will launched officially by MMDA Chairman Bayani Fernando.

During the party, cash prizes for the winners in last year’s festival awards will also be handed out. The list of winners is as follows (with cash prizes based on the 2006 Filmfest):

Best Picture—Resiklo (P800,000)

Second Best Picture—Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo (P550,000)

Third Best Picture—Enteng Kabisote 4 (P300,000)

Gatpuno Cultural Award—Katas ng Saudi and Bahay Kubo (P550,000)

Most Gender Sensitive Film—Desperadas

Best Director—Cesar Apolinario for Banal (P100,000)

Best Actor—Sen. Jinggoy Estrada for Katas ng Saud (P100,000)i

Best Actress—Maricel Soriano for Bahay Kubo (P100,000)

Best Supporting Actor—Roi Vinzons for Resiklo (P50,000)

Best Supporting Actress—Eugene Domingo for Bahay Kubo (P50,000)

Best Child Actor—Nash Aguas for Christmas Tree episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 9 (P50,000)

Best Screenplay
—Jose Javier Reyes for Katas ng Saudi (P100,000)

Best Original Story—Cesar Apolinario and Mac Cruz for Banal (P50,000)

Best Cinematography—Jay Linao for Resiklo (P50,000)

Best Visual Effects—Ignite Media for Resiklo (P50,000)

Best Editing—Jay Halili for Resiklo (P50,000)

Best Production Design—Rodel Cruz for Resiklo (P50,000)

Best Musical Score—Von de Guzman for Bahay Kubo (P50,000)

Best Original Song—Wala na bang Pagasa? by Rusty Hernandez in Anak ng Kumander (P50,000)

Best Sound—Ditoy Aguila for Resiklo (P50,000)

Best Make-Up—Rosalinda Lopez for Desperadas (P50,000)

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/