Mar 31
FIRST GADTIMPALA AWARDS FOR MEDIA ANNOUNCED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Mar 31, 2015

The very first GADTIMPALA Awards for Media—conferred by the Media Gender Equality Committee—were handed out last Thursday, March 26, at the GSIS Theatre, Financial Center, Roxas Blvd., Pasay City.
The initial winners are:
Most Gender-Fair Radio Program—Radyo Balintataw, DzRH
Most Gender-Fair Print Media—Women’s Journal
Most Gender-Fair TV Program—Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho
Most Gender-Fair Film—Barber’s Tales (Mga Kwentong Barbero), directed by Jun Lana for APT Entertainment Inc.

The Media Gender Equality Committee (MGEC) will be giving out the GADtimpala Awards annually.

The MGEC is composed of the following: the Presidential Communications Operations Office, headed by Sec. Sonny B. Coloma; the Philippine Commission on Women, headed by Chairperson Remedios I. Rikken; the National Telecommunications Commission, headed by Commissioner Gamaliel A. Cordova;the Movie and Television Review and Classification Board, headed by Chairperson Atty. Eugenio H. Villareal; the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, headed by Chairperson Felipe M. de Leon, Jr.; the Optical Media Board, headed by acting OIC Dennis Lorenzo B. Pinlac; the Film Development Council of the Philippines, headed by Chairperson Briccio G. Santos; and the Film Academy of the Philippines, headed by Director-General Leo G. Martinez.

The GADtimpala (GAD Transformation & Institutionalization through Mainstreaming of Programs, Agenda, Linkages & Advocacies) Awards for Media or the search for the most outstanding gender-responsive agencies is the MGEC’s response to Section 42 of the Magna Carta of Women which states that “There shall be established an incentives and awards system which shall be administered by a board under such rules and regulations as may be promulgated by the PCW to deserving entities, government agencies, and local government units for their outstanding performances in upholding the rights of women and effective implementation of gender-responsive programs.”

The GADtimpala trophy, made from fiberglass with bronze patina, is designed by Randolf Clarito of the NCCA and fabricated by Estuarte Studios. Depicting the hands of a woman and a man, this trophy encapsulates the penultimate vision of having a gender-fair society.
The equal sign bisected by an eye symbolizes the role of media as watchdogs in ensuring the non-discriminatory and non-derogatory portrayal of woman in various forms of media and communication.

This year, two TV programs and a documentary film were also given special citations. These are: The Veronica Chronicles; Personage with Carla Lizardo and Walang Rape sa Bontok.

The working group of the committee is composed of the following: Dir. Ma. Victoria Deypalubos and Ms. Sophia Lynn Lumantod of the NTC; Asec. Cathryne Jonne T. Licudine-Dalen and Ms. Gladys Pino of the PCOO; Ms. Nikki Delos Santos and Mr. Kim Harold Peji of PCW; Atty. Ann Marie Nemenzo of MTRCB; Mr. Robert Jimenez of FDCP; Mr. Jose Carreon of FAP; Ms. Espie Coronel of OMB; Ms. Marlene Ruth Sanchez of NCCA; and Ms. Kath Raymundo of Center for Media.