Jan 23
NORTE MISSES OSCAR’S FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILMS NOMINATION by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jan 23, 2015

Norte, the End of History, directed by Lav Diaz, failed to barge into the shortlist of nine films which vied for the five nominations of the best foreign language film category of the 87th Oscar Awards scheduled for February 27.

The final nominees which were announced last January 15 are the following:

Argentina’s Wild Tales, directed by Damian Szifrom

Estonia’s Tangerines, directed by Zaza Urashedze

Mauriatania’s Timbuktu, directed by Abderrahmane Sissako

Poland’s Ida, directed by Pawel Pawlikowski

Russia’s Leviathan, directed by Andrey Zuyagintsev

The four other films which got into the shortlist were:

Netherlands’ Accused, directed by Paula van der Oest

Georgia’s Corn Island, directed by George Ovashvili

Sweden’s Force Majeure, directed by Ruben Ostlund

Venezuela’s The Liberator, directed by Alberto Arvalo

Two award-giving bodies had already chosen their best foreign language films. Last January 11, the Golden Globe Awards declared Russia’s Leviathan as the winner. Last January 16, the 20th Critics’ Choice Awards picked Sweden’s Force Majeure the winner.
The British award-giving body, the BAFTA, listed their final nominees as Poland’s Ida, Russia’s Leviathan, India’s The Lunchbox directed by Ritosh Batra, Brazil’s Trash directed by Stephen Daldry and Belgium’s Two Days, One Night directed by Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne.

Hereunder are the best foreign language film winners of the Oscar since the year 2000:

2000: Taiwan’s Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon by Ang Lee; 2001: Bosnia & Herzegovina’s No Man’s Land by Danis Tanovic;2002: Germany’s Nowhere in Africa by Caroline Link; 2003: Canada’s The Barbarian Invsions by Denys Arcand; 2004: Spain’s The Sea Inside by Alejandro Amenabar;

2005: South Africa’s Tsotsi by Gavin Hood; 2006: Germany’s The Lives of Others by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck; 2007: Austria’s The Counter-feiters by Stefan Ruzowitzky; 2008: Japan’s Departures by Yojiro Takita;

2009: Agentina’s The Secret in their Eyes by Juan Jose Campanella; 2010: Denmark’s In a Better World by Susanne Bier; 2011: Iran’s A Separation by Ashgar Farhadi; 2012: Austria’s Amour by Michael Haneke; and 2013: Italy’s The Great Beauty by Paolo Sorrentino.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/