Sep 01
FAP SUBMITS 7-MEMBER OSCAR COMMITTEE TO AMPAS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Sep 1, 2014

The Film Academy of the Philippines has a officially transmitted to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) the composition of the Academy committee which will select and submit the Philippine entry to the best foreign language film category of the 87th Oscar awards.

The committee is headed by Actor-Director Robert Arevalo with the following as members: Laurice Guillen-Feleo, director-actress; Manuel Urbano Jr., director-actor-writer; William Mayo, director; Joe N. Carreon, director-writer; Gina Alajar, director-actress; and Jesus Navarro, film editor.

To be eligible this year, films must have been released in the submitting countries for a run of at least seven consecutive days beginning no earlier than October 1, 2013 and no later than September 30, 2014.

The FAP was designated by AMPAS to select the country’s nominee starting in 2007 with Donsol directed by Adolfo Alix Jr. being submitted. The other submissions after this were the following:

2008—Ploning directed by Dante Nico Garcia; 2009—Ded na si Lolo directed by Soxie Topacio; 2010—Noy directed by Dondon S. Santos; 2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank directed by Marlon Rivera; 2012—Bwakaw directed by Jun Lana; and 2013—Transit directed by Hannah Espia.

Before the Oscar Committee of FAP assumed this task, there had been 17 previous submissions of Filipino films to the best foreign language film category. Unfortunately up to now, no Filipino film has been selected as a final nominee though there were some instances that a local film was included in the shortlist prior to the final five.

The 17 previous submissions are herein listed chronologically:

1956—Anak Dalita directed by National Artist for Film Lamberto Avellana;
1961—The Moises Padilla Story directed by National Artist for Film Gerardo de Leon;
1967—Dahil sa Isang Bulaklak directed by Luis Nepomuceno;
1976—Ganito Kami Noon…Paano Kayo Ngayon? directed by National Artist for Film Eddie Romero;
1984—Karnal directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1985—Bayan Ko…Kapit sa Patalim directed by National Artist for Film Lino Brocka;
1995—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna;
1996—Segurista directed by Tikoy Aguiluz;
1997—Milagros directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1999—Saranggola directed by Gil Portes;
2000—Anak directed by Rory B. Quintos;
2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway directed by Gil Portes;
2002—Mga Munting Tinig directed by Gil Portes;
2003—Dekada ’70 directed by Chito Rono;
2004—Crying Ladies directed by Mark Meily;
2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros directed by Auraeus Solito.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at