Jan 10
2007 MMFF-P AWARDS WINNERS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Thu, Jan 10, 2008

Resiklo was the major winner of the 2007 Metropolitan Manila Film Festival-Philippines. GMA 7 reporter Cesar Apolinario snagged the best director award in his first effort in feature length filmmaking for Banal. Sen. Jinggoy Estrada and Maricel Soriano won as best actor and best actress while Katas ng Saudi was given the Gatpuno cultural award.

The list of winners is as follows:

Best Picture—Resiklo

Second Best Picture—Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo

Third Best Picture—Enteng Kabisote 4

Gatpuno Cultural Award—Katas ng Saudi and Bahay Kubo

Most Gender Senstive Film–Desperadas

Best Director—Cesar Apolinario for Banal

Best Actor—Sen. Jinggoy Estrada for Katas ng Saudi

Best Actress
—Maricel Soriano for Bahay Kubo

Best Supporting Actor—Roi Vinzons for Resiklo

Best Supporting Actress—Eugene Domingo for Bahay Kubo

Best Child Actor—Nash Aguas for Christmas Tree episode of Shake, Rattle & Roll 9

Best Screenplay—Jose Javier Reyes for Katas ng Saudi

Best Original Story—Cesar Apolinario and Mac Cruz for Banal

Best Cinematography—Jay Linao for Resiklo

Best Visual Effects—Ignite Media for Resiklo

Best Editing—Jay Halili for Resiklo

Best Production Design—Rodel Cruz for Resiklo

Best Musical Score—Von de Guzman for Bahay Kubo

Best Original Song—Wala na bang Pagasa? by Rusty Hernandez in Anak ng Kumander

Best Sound—Ditoy Aguila for Resiklo

Best Make-Up—Rosalinda Lopez for Desperadas

The board of jurors—chaired by National Artist for Film Eddie Romero and Julie Borje—included Ma. Consoliza Laguardia, chairperson of the Movie and Television Review and Classification Board; Rolando Josef, chief of staff of the MMDA; Jesus Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines; Crispina Belen, entertainment editor of the Manila Daily Bulletin; Angie Magbanua; Christine Dayrit, chairperson of the Cinema Evaluation Board; singer-composer Dero Pedero; layout design consultant Jojo Pinga; and Director Bebong Osorio of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines Inc.

A day after the awards, best actor winner Sen. Jinggoy Estrada held a press conference and lashed at the shaby teartment the film industry got during the awards night which he said was virtually reduced to a sort of front act for the concert of Lani Misalucha.

Only the awards for best picture—which included the three best picture awards and the Gatpuno Cultural award—best director, best performers, best screenplay and best story were actually given at the main venue of the SM Mall of Asia theater.

Eight other awards—for best cinematography, editing, production design, sound, musical score, theme song, make-up, special effects and child actor—were given earlier on a makeshift stage outside the main venue.