Jun 06
SINE PANITIK 2 SCRIPTWRITING CONTEST TO BE LAUNCHED SOON by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jun 6, 2014

The Second Sine Panitik Scriptwriting contest will be launched by the end of this month as the Film Academy of the Philippines has already drawn up a list of 23 classic Filipino short stories—14 in English and 9 in Tagalog—which will be adapted into screenplays.

Like the First Sine Panitik contest, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts NCCA) is again providing a P400,000 subsidy to take care of the prizes for the six winning adaptations and royalties for the authors of the stories adapted in the winning entries.

The first scriptwriting contest featured seven winning adaptations of three stories in English and four in Tagalog. Three of these stories had already been translated into film, namely, Faith, Love, Time and Dr. Lazaro by Gregorio Brillantes, Tata Selo ni Rogelio Sicat and Sandaang Damit ni Fanny Garcia.

The film, with the omnibus title Tres (Lazaro, Tata Selo at 100 Damit), is now in the post-production stage and is tentatively scheduled for commercial showing during the Linggo ng Wika in August.

The directors for the three stories are Jose N. Carreon for Dr. Lazaro, William Mayo for Tata Selo and Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao for Sandaang Damit.

FAP Director-General Leo G. Martinez has approved the short list of 23 stories which also included ten stories which were written beginning the year 2000.

The short stories in English are as follows:

Children of the Ash-Covered Loam by NVM Gonzales; Dead Stars by Paz Marquez Benitez; How My Brother Leon Brought Home a Wife by Manuel E. Arguilla; Midsummer by Miguel Arguilla; My Brother’s Peculiar Chicken by Alejandro R. Roces; My Father Goes to Court by Carlos Bulosan; The Bread of Slat by NVM Gonzales; and The Mats by Francisco Arcellana;

2000 and up: In Transit by Rebecca E. Khan; Shut Up and Live by Lakambini Sitoy; The Death of Fray Salvador Montero by Rosario Ma. Lucero; The Woman in the Box by Jose Dalisay Jr.; and We Won’t Cry About This by Socorro Villanueva.

The short stories in Tagalog are as follows:

Banyaga ni Liwayway A. Arceo; Lugmok na ang Nayon ni Edgardo M. Reyes; May Buhay sa Looban ni Pedro S. Dandan; Suyuan sa Tubigan ni Macario Pineda;

2000 and up: Ang Apo ni Lola Soledad ni Edgardo Maranan; Apokalipsis ni Alvin B. Yapan; Apong Simon ni Reynaldo Duque; Sandosenang Sapatos ni Luis Gatmaitan; at Si Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino ni Eros S. Atalia.

The complete rules and regulations will be published soon with pointers rom the FAP on the possible sources of the stories for adaptation.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/