Dec 27
LUNA AWARDS SILVER ANNIVERSARY WINNERS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Thu, Dec 27, 2007

The Film Academy of the Philippines has announced the winners in this year’s silver anniversary presentation of its Luna Awards. Star Cinema’s Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo bagged six of the 12 awards.

In a break in tradition, FAP Director-General Leo G. Martinez said the academy decided to announce the winners before holding its awards nights which has been finally scheduled at 7 o’clock tonight at the Club Filipino in Greenhills, San Juan City. The awards night is jointly sponsored by Keyser Mercantile-Fuji Films and Tanduay.

Six special awards will also be given to six film personalities—including two posthumously. The FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Actor-Producer Rudy Fernandez and Writer-Director Celso Ad. Castillo. Ms. Charo Santos-Concio and Mr. Wilson Y. Tieng will receive the Manuel de Leon Award for exemplary achievements. The Lamberto Avellana Award (posthumous) will be given to Manuel Conde and Vic Silayan.

Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo won in the categories of best picture, director (Jose Javier Reyes), actress (Judy Ann Santos), supporting actress (Gina Pareño), screenplay (Jose Javier Reyes and Mary Ann Bautista) and editing (Vito Cajili).

John Lloyd Cruz was best actor for All About Love while Johnny Delgado made it two in a row in the best supporting actor derby for Ligalig (he won last year for La Visa Loca). Jay Linao was declared the best cinematographer and Chito Sumera the best production designer, both for Eternity. Angie Reyes won for best sound for Till I Met You and Vincent de Jesus won for best music score for Zsa Zsa Saturnnah.

Here are the winners and nominees: Best Picture—Winner, Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (ABS-CBN Star Cinema); Nominees, Inang Yaya (Unitel Productions), Kaleldo (Centerstage Productions), Kubrador (MLR Films) and Sukob (ABS-CBN Star Cinema).

Best Director—Winner, Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal); Nominees, Joyce Bernal (Don’t Give Up on Us), Jeffrey Jeturian (Kubrador), Brillante Mendoza (Kaleldo) and Chito Roño (Sukob).

Best Actor—Winner, John Lloyd Cruz (All About Love); Nominees, Robert Arevalo (Barcelona), Eddie Garcia (I Wanna Be Happy), Sid Lucewro (Donsol) and Rustom Padilla (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah).

Best Actress
—Winner, Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Nominees, Gina Pareño (Kubrador), Judy Ann Santos (Don’t Give Up on Us) and Maricel Soriano (Inang Yaya).

Best Supporting Actor—Winner, Johnny Delgado (Ligalig); Nominees, Tommy Abuel (Don’t Give Up on Us), Archie Adamos (Raket ni Nanay), Eddie Garcia (Till I Met You) and Ronaldo Valdez (Sukob).

Best Supporting Actress—Winner, Gina Pareño (Kasal); Nominees, Cherrie Pie Picache (I Wanna Be Happy), Celia Rodriguez (Ligalig) and Tala Santos (Inang Yaya).

Best Screenplay—Winners, Jose Javier Reyes and Mary Ann Bautista (Kasal); Nominees, Adolfo Alix (Donsol), Ralston G. Jover (Kubrador), Boots Agbayani Pastor (Kaleldo) and Veronica V. Velasco (Inang Yaya).

Best Cinematography—Winner, Jay Linao (Eternity); Nominees, Marissa Floirendo (TXT), Nap Jamir (Twilight Dancers), Lito Mempin (Barang) and Ramoncito Redoble (Kasal).

Best Production Design
—Winner, Chito Sumera (Eternity); Nominees, Edgar Martin Littaua (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah), Benjamin Padero (Kaleldo) and Norman Regalado (Inang Yaya).

Best Editing—Winner, Vito Cajili (Kasal); Nominees, Manet Dayrit (Sukob), Jay Halili (Pamahiin) and Marya Ignacio (You are the One).

Best Music Score
—Winner, Vincent de Jesus (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah); Nominees, Nonong Buencamino (Inang Yaya), Nonong Buencamino (Moments of Love), Von de Guzman (Shake, Rattle and Roll 8.) and Jesse Lucas (I Will Always Love You).

Best Sound—Winner, Angie Reyes (Till I Met You); Nominees, Ditoy Aguila (Eternity), Albert Michael Idioma (Kasal), Addiss Tabong (Close to You) and Addiss Tabong (First Day High).