Apr 21
A DECADE OF FAPWEB by Alex J. Socorro  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Apr 21, 2014

Part 5

The first FAP board of governors meeting of the year 2005 saw the rising statistics of FAPWEB. Jesse Ejercito, head of the FAPWEB group, was glad to announce that the website was already garnering 4,000 hits per day.

The FAP board of governors meeting of 2005

Short of one year in existence, the huge number of the website’s readers may be due to the weekly updates. Also the new design of FAPWEB was lacking in graphics but has faster access than the old one.


A mass was held in Mowelfund Plaza in commemoration of the 40th day of FPJ’s death. The simple mass was attended by FPJ’s sister Beth Poe and brother Conrad.

Others who showed their sympathy were FAP director general Leo Martinez, FAP chairman Atty. Espiridion Laxa and his brother actor Tony Ferrer, Johnny Delgado and wife Laurice Guillen, Mowelfund head Boots Anson Roa.

FAP director general Leo Martinez in line for the communion during the mass for FPJ. First in line is Beth Poe followed by scriptwriter Butch Macaro

Spotted in the crowd were directors Carlitos Siguion Reyna, Joel Lamangan, Gil Portes, Mel Chionglo and Baldo Marro. Also seen were writers Sennedy Que, Franco Deocarez and Buth Macaro.


After 3 years as president of the Screenwriters Guild of the Philippines, Buddy Palad gave way to the clamor for elections. The new president was Pablo Gomez, a noted story writer, and the vice president was the poet Pablo Libiran,

FAP director general Leo Martinez administering the oath to the new SGP board of 2005, from left: Isabel Sebullen, Butch Macaro, Leleng Ubaldo, Pablo Libiran, Hernan Robles, Pablo Gomez, Serge Custodio. To the left of Martinez are Manny Rodriguez, Enrico Villa, William Pascual and Marizaly Quitania

Other board members were prize winning scriptwriter Serge Custodio, Enrico Villa, Manny Rodriguez, William Pascual, Hernan Robles, Leleng Ubaldo and Butch Macaro. Representing the associate members were Isabel Sebullen and Girlie Quitania.


The FAP award statuette was given a name via a contest held in the website of the Film Academy. Submitted names surpassed the target of 500 entries.

Adjudged winner was the name Luna submitted by Dr. Romeo Cando, the same entry of Baltazar Dela Cruz.. They both earned P5,000 in cash. Tala was the runner-up submitted by Valerie Ann Bacay worth P3,000 and P2,000 for Bing Manalo’s Maria Clara.

Host of the affair Boots Anson Roa, Leo Martinez, Valerie Ann Bacay, Dr. Romeo Cando, honorable mention winner Paulino Umali and Bing Manalo of GMA-7

Winners, including the 9 honorable mentions that earned P1,000 pesos, were invited to the Luna Awards night to be held in Westin Philippine Plaza.


Like the previous year, the Luna Awards night was another red carpet affair produced by Albert Martinez and his partners. It was held in the air-conditioned tent of Westin Philippine Plaza.

The voters of the Luna Awards. Spotted in the photo are production manager Oscar Hibanada, scriptwriter Serge Custodio and Manny Rodriguez, Jun Garlan and Ernie Dela Cruz of the musical scorers guild, Direk Baldo Maro, Roger Vegilia. At right in white and holding a styro glass is Malou Villarey, the external auditor

Walking on the red carpet were Angelica Panganiban, Camille Prats, Nikki Valdez, Angelou De Leon, Desiree Del Valle, Jodi Santamaria, Bernadette Alysson, Angel Locsin, Francine Prieto, Yasmien Kurdi, Lorna T and Lani Mercado.

The other pretty faces were Joyce Jimenez, Gina Alajar, Maricel Laxa, Cherie Gil, Celia Rodriguez, Assunta De Rossi, Geneva Cruz, Melissa Ricks, Aubrey Miles, Boots Anson Roa, Jaclyn Jose and Bianca King.

Jomari Yllana in a souvenir shot with legman Domeng Bautista and the FAP secretariat: Manay Lima Dugtong, Charlotte Dugtong, Leah Bernardez and Ana Fajardo

Complementing the girls and women were Mark Herras, Paolo Paraiso, Paolo Contis, Ricky Davao, Jay-R, Dennis Trillo, Piolo Pascual, Jericho Rosales, John Lapus, Jay Manalo, Ryan Eigenmann, Jomari Yllana and Wendell Ramos.

Joey Marquez arrived with his children. Others spotted were Hero Bautista, Mark Anthony Fernandez, Allan Paule, Gardo Versoza, Eddie Garcia, Bembol Roco and Kuya Germs – German Moreno.

Leo Martinez and Susan Roces for the FPJ Lifetime Achievement award

Also seen were couples Dennis Padilla and Marjorie Barretto, Raymart Santiago and Claudine Barretto, Melanie Marquez and husband, Albert Martinez and Liezel, Boyet and Sandy, Donna Cruz and husband, Johnny Delgado and Laurice Guillen

Hosted by Boy Abunda, the awards night lasted until almost midnight. Martin Nievera and Regine Velasquez treated the audience with their song numbers. The star-studded guest list was led by Susan Roces who awarded the FPJ Lifetime Achievement award.

Comments to this article can be sent to ajsocorro@yahoo.com

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/