Dec 19
LUNA AWARDS POSTPONED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Dec 19, 2007

The 25th Luna Awards has been postponed indefinitely even as leaders of the Film Academy of the Philippines try to hold a simple but meaningful award ceremonies before the year ends.

The independent producer who entered into a contract with the Academy in staging the awards program has encountered problems that resulted in the failure to mount the show on the scheduled date of December 20, Thursday.

Announcements will be made later as to the new schedule which hopefully will still be held on December 29 or 30. FAP officials are still hoping that the program will be held at the SM Mall of Asia.

However and inspite of the postponement, the silver anniversary souvenir program will come off the press as scheduled and will be distributed free to guild members and producers as well as the well-meaning personalities, companies and agencies that advertised in the special issue.

The souvenir programs will be delivered to the FAP office on Thursday morning, December 20, by the LSA Printing Press. They will be promptly distributed accordingly.

The official list of nominees is as follows:

Best Picture
Inang Yaya, Unitel Pictures; Kaleldo, Centerstage Productions; Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, ABS-CBN Star Cinema Films; Kubrador, MLR Films; and Sukob, ABS-CBN Star Cinema Films.

Best Director
Joyce Bernal (ABS-CBN Star Cinema Films’ Don’t Give Up on Us); Jeffrey Jeturian (Kubrador); Dante Brilliante Mendoza (Kaleldo); Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); and Chito Roño (Sukob).

Best Actor
Robert Arevalo (5G Media Productions/Maverick Films’ Barcelona); John Lloyd Cruz (ABS-CBN Star Cinema Films’ All About Love); Eddie Garcia (Seiko Films’ I Wanna Be Happy); Sid Lucero (Bicycle Productions’ Donsol); and Rustom Padilla (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Zsa Zsa Saturnnah)

Best Actress
Gina Pareño (Kubrador); Judy Ann Santos (Don’t Give Up on Us); Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); and Maricel Soriano (Inang Yaya).

Best Supporting Actor
Tommy Abuel (Don’t Give Up on Us); Archie Adamos (Creative Program Inc.’s Raket ni Nanay); Johnny Delgado (CM Productions’ Ligalig); Eddie Garcia (GMA Films/Viva Films’ Till I Met You); and Ronaldo Valdez (Sukob).

Best Supporting Actress
Gina Pareño (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Cherry Pie Picache (I Wanna Be Happy); Celia Rodriguez (Ligalig); and Tala Santos (Inang Yaya).

Best Screenplay
Adolfo Alix (Donsol); Ralston G. Jover (Kubrador); Boots Agbayani Pastor (Kaleldo); Jose Javier Reyes & Mary Ann Bautista (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); and Veornica V. Velasco (Inang Yaya).

Best Cinematography

Marissa Floirendo (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s TXT); Nap Jamir II (Centerstage Productions’ Twilight Dancers); Jay Linao (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Eternity); Lito Mempin (Northern Star Productions’ Barang) and Ramoncito Redoble (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo).

Best Production Design
Edgar Martin Littaua (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah); Benjamin Padero (Kaleldo); Norman Regalado (Inang Yaya); and Chito Sumera (Eternity).

Best Editing
Vito Cajili (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Manet Dayrit (Sukob); Jay Halili (Pamahiin); and Marya Ignacio (ABS-CBN Star Cinema Films’ You are the One).

Best Musical Score
Nonong Buencamino (Inang Yaya); Nonong Buencamino (GMA Films’ Moments of Love); Von de Guzman (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Shake, rattle & Roll 8); Vincent de Jesus (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah); and Jesse Lucas (Regal Entertainment Inc. & GMA Films’ I Will Always Love You).

Best Sound
Ditoy Aguila (Eternity); Albert Michael Idioma (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Angie Reyes (Till I Met You); Addiss Tabong (ABS-CBN Star Cinema Films’ Close to You: and Addiss Tabong (ABS-CBN Star Cinema Films’ First day High).