Mar 07
FAP, 4 OTHERS GIVEN FIRST TRANCHE OF FILMFEST AMUSEMENT TAX REBATE by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Mar 7, 2014

The Film Academy of the Philippines and four other beneficiaries received the first tranche of their share of the amusement tax rebate during last year’s Metropolitan Manila Film Festival during the launching of the 40th Metro Filmfest at Club Filipino last Wednesday, March 5.

An appreciation dinner for last year’s filmfest was also held which featured the giving of cash awards to the 2013 filmfest winners.

This comes under the shadow of a complaint by the Academy that the share of the beneficiaries was short of P82 million for the period 2002 to 2008 according to the Commission on Audit. The Academy has sought an explanation from the MMDA about this but the two agencies have not yet started a dialogue.

The Academy received a check for P1 million which was an amount bigger than the previous first tranches given since 2006.

The first tranche amounts were as follows: 2006 P800,000; 2007 P400,000; 2008 P400,000; 2009 P350,000; 2010 P600.000; 2011 P400,000; and 2012 P400,000.

The other beneficiaries were Mowelfund, Motion Picture Anti-Film Piracy Council, Inc., the Optical Media Board and the Film Development Council of the Philippines.

The winners in last year’s filmfest awards night—which was held at the Meralco theater on Dec. 27, 2013—who received their cash awards were the following:

Best Picture 10,000 Hours
2nd Best Picture Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
3rd Best Picture My Little Bossings

Best Director Bb Joyce Bernal (10,000 Hours)
Best Actor Robin Padilla (10,000 Hours)
Best Actress Maricel Soriano (Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy)
Best Supporting Actor Pen Medina (10,000 Hours)
Best Supporting Actress Aiza Seguerra (My Little Bossings)
Gatpuno Villegas Cultural Award 10,000 Hours
Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence 10,000 Hours
Best Screenplay Ryllah Epifania Benco & Keiko Aquino (10,000 Hours)
Best Original Story Ryllah Benco & Keiko SAquino (10,000 Hours)
Gender Sensitivity Award Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
Best Cinematography Marissa Floirendo (10,000 Hours)
Best Editor Marya Ignacio (10,000 Hours)
Best Production Design 10,000 Hours
Best Visual Effects 10,000 Hours
Best Make-up Pagpag: Siyam na Buhay
Original Theme Song My Little Bossings – Jan K. Ilacad
Best Musical Score Teresa Barrozo (10,000 Hours)
Best Sound Engineer Emmanuel Clemente (10,000 Hours)
Best Child Performer Ryzza Mae Dizon (My Little Bossings)
Youth Choice Award Pagpag: Siyam na Buhay
Best Float Boy Golden Shoot to Kill, the Arturo Porcuna Story

New Wave Category: Full-Length Category
Best Picture Dukit
Best Director Armando Lao – Dukit
Best Actor Wilfredo Layug, Bor Ocampo, Bambalito Lacap – Dukit
Best Actress Agot Isidro – Mga Anino ng Kahapon
Most Gender Sensitivity Award Island Dreams
Special Jury Prize Mga Anino ng Kahapon

New Wave Student : Short Film
Special Jury Prize – NoFilter
Most Gender-Sensitive Film – Hintayin Mo sa Seq. 24

Best Picture – Kaleh and Mbaki
Special Jury Prize – Ang Lalong ni Kulakog

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at