May 09
HINDI KITA MALIMOT CONCERT ON CHANNEL 2 ON MAY 20 by Alex J. Socorro  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, May 9, 2007

The long-awaited television special Hindi Kita Malimot…Kantang-Kanta, Pelikulang-Pelikula concert, which was the first major event to commemorate the silver anniversary of the Film Academy of the Philippines this year, will be finally aired on Sunday, May 20, over Channel 2, ABS-CBN.

The concert was held at the Mall of Asia last March 27—almost a full two months ago– through the joint efforts of the Academy, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, the 8 Elephants Productions and ABS-CBN.

The concert paid tribute to the composers of movie theme songs that won awards and had been installed in the country’s treasury of classical movie theme songs.

The concert featured works of active musical scorers and composers like Willy Cruz, Rey Valera, Ryan Cayabyab, Vehnee Saturno, Louie Ocampo, Lutgardo Labad, and singer-composers Ogie Alcasid and Gary Valenciano But it also included classics composed by those who had already passed away—George Canseco, Restie Umali, Tony Maiquez, Levi Celerio, Juan Silos and Ernani Cuenco.

All in all, the compact one hour and forty minute show was class A entertainment with the presence of Pops Fernandez, the evening’s principal emcee, and veteran singers like Pilita Corrales, Basil Valdez, Gary Valenciano, and Andrew E, as well as veteran actors and actresses like Aiza Seguerra, Lani Mercado, Michael de Mesa, Rica Peralejo, Ricky Davao and Tirso Cruz III.

The balanced cast of performers also included Bea Alonzo, Jericho Rosales, John Lloyd Cruz, as well as the set of young and new singers like Christian Bautista, Frenchie Dee, Gerald Anderson, Iya Villaña, Jed Madela, Jett Pangan, Karel, Kim Chiu, Mark Bautista, Nikki Gil, Spanky Trinidad, Pokwang, Sheree, Sheryn Regis, Sitti and Yeng Constantino.

Several groups also performed, including the Jeepney band, The Company, the winners and finalists of Little Big Stars and the Man Power Dance Group.

The concert project was a brainchild of Directors Vergara and William Mayo who sought partial funding from the NCCA for this silver anniversary project.

The concert succeeded in focusing on the immortal movie theme songs and their composers in one glorious night of singing starring personalities in both the film and music industries.

The list of award-winning songs featured in the concert included immortal classics like the following:

Ang Daigdig Ko’y Ikaw, Kahit Konting Pagtingin and Sapagka’t Kami’y Tao Lamang, by Levi Celerio and Antonio Maiquez; Bato sa Buhangin by Ernani Cuenco;

Hihintayin Kita sa Langit, Kastilyong Buhangin, Misis Mo…Mister Ko, and Paano Ngayon Kung Wala ng Kahapon by George Canseco;

Bituing Walang Ningning, Kung Mahawi Man ang Ulap, Maging Akin Ka Lamang, May Minamahal and Sana’y Wala Nang Wakas by Willy Cruz;

Maging Sino Ka Man and Sinasamba Kita by Rey Valera; Paraisong Parisukat by Ryan Cayabyab; Pangako ng Kahapon and Sana Maulit Muli by Vehnee Saturno; Hindi Kita Malimot by Prof. Josefino Cenizal; and Bakit Ako Mahihiya? by Pablo Vergara.

The concert was the first in a series of silver anniversary activities that the Academy has lined up inspite of the financial constraints it is at present undergoing. The Celebrity Salin Gamit Festival has already opened at the third level of the Ali Mall shopping center last April 25. Other projects include the Pelikulang Pampanitikan program, the nationwide Pride and Values Campaign and finally, the 25th Luna Awards.