Nov 20
SCREENPLAY NOMINEES—FIRST TO BE IN by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Nov 20, 2007

The first list of nominees in this year’s silver anniversary of the Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines was finalized by the board of nominators in the screenplay category.

Other lists of nominees are expected to be submitted for tabulation on or before Thursday, November 22.

The nominees in the screenplay category are the following:

Ralston G. Jover for MLR Films’ Kubrador.

Boots Agbayani Pastor for Centerstage Productions’ Kaleldo.

Veronica V. Velasco for Unitel Productions’ Inang Yaya.

Jose Javier Reyes & Mary Ann Bautista
for Star Cinema’s Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo.

Adolfo Alix
for Bicycle Productions & Star Cinema’s Donsol.

The board of nominators for the screenplay category included National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero, Director Jose Carreon, Lualhati Bautista, Manny Buising and Jo-en Chionglo.

With a December 10 schedule for the silver anniversary version awards night, nominators are racing against time to come up with their list of final nominees.

All boards of citers had already come up with their best ten lists in 11 categories, including four for performances.

It is the five-member boards of nominators’ turn to trim these lists down to the five (or less) final nominees. The final lists of nominees will also be the basis to come up with the five best picture finalists. To qualify for best picture nomination, a film must at least garner nomination in three categories, provided that one of the three must be for direction or screenplay.

The academy voters will chose the eventual winners in all categories only after a marathon viewing of the nominated films, performances and technical works.

The viewing of nominated films is tentatively scheduled on Nov. 28, 29 and 30 and December 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6 at Remar 2 theater on Aurora Blvd. In Cubao. The screenings will be from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. during the said dates. The voting by the voters Is slated after the last screening on Dec. 6.

As submitted by the citers, here is the ten best list for the other ten categories:

Direction—Jerry Lopez-Sineneng, Don Cuaresma and Joyce Bernal (Star Cinema’s All About Love); Jess Lapid Jr. (MTL Films’ Batas Militar); Joyce Bernal (Star Cinema’s Don’t Give Up on Us); Pablo Biglang-awa Jr. and Veronica Velasco (Unitel Prod.’s Inang Yaya); Brillante Mendoza (Centerstage Prod.’s Kaleldo); Jose Javier Reyes (Star Cinema’s Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Jeffrey Jeturian (MLR Films’ Kubrador); Lawrence Fajardo (Creative Programs Inc.’s Raket ni Nanay); Connie S.A. Macatuno (I.O.U. One Prod.’s Rome and Juliet); and Chito Roño (Star Cinema’s Sukob).

Editing—Renato ‘Ning’ de Leon (Barang); Renato ‘Ning’ de Leon (Batas Militar); Marya Ignacio (Don’t Give Up on Us); Randy Gabriel (Inang Yaya); Vito Cajili (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Jay Halili (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Pamahiin); Lester Oleyar, JV Chiu, Danzen Santos and Ray Rosento (Rome and Juliet); Manet Dayrit (Sukob); Marya Ignacio (GMA Films/Viva Films’ Till I Met You); and Marya Ignacio (You Are the One).

Production Design—Gessan Enriquez (Donsol); Chito Sumera (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Eternity); Norman Regalado (Inang Yaya); Benjamin Padero (Kaleldo); Willy Urbino (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Leo Abaya (Kubrador); Chito Sumera (Moments of Love); Edgar Martin Littaua (Pamahiin); Raymond A. Bajarias (Sukob); and Edgar Martin Littaua (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah).

Cinematography—Lito Mempin (Barang); Prince Trofeo (Batas Militar); Jay Linao (Eternity); Richard Padernal (Seiko Films’ I Wanna Be Happy); Sherman Philip T. So (Imus Prod.’s Kapag Tumibok ang Puso); Ramoncito Redoble (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Jay Linao (Moments of Love); Marcial Tarnate (Rome and Juliet); Nap Jamir II (Centerstage Prod.’s Twilight Dancers); and Marissa Floirendo (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s TXT).

Musical Score—Joy Marfil (5G Media Prod./Maverick Films’ Barcelona); Jesse Lucas (I Wanna Be Happy); Jesse Lucas (Regal Entertainment Inc./GMA Films’ I Will Always Love You); Nonong Buencamino (Inang Yaya); Jessie Lazaten (Kapag Tumibok ang Puso); Nonong Buencamino (Moments of Love); Richard Gonzales and Vince de Jesus (Pamahiin); Von de Guzman and Jesse Lucas (Regal Entertainment Inc.’s Shake, Rattle & Roll 8); Vincent de Jesus (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah).

Sound—Ditoy Aguila (Eternity); Albert Michael Idioma (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Allan Hilado nd Dempster Samarista (Alessandro Prods.’ Rekados); Angie reyes (Till I Met You); Angie reyes (Batas Milotar); Addis Tabong (Close To You); Paulo Zarate, Alexi Corbilla and Arnold Jallores (Rome and Juliet); Addiss Tabong (First Day High); Ditoy Aguila and Nolet Clemente (Kubrador); and Mark Locsin and Angie Reyes (Inang Yaya).

Lead Actor—John Lloyd Cruz (All About Love); Robert Arevalo (Barcelona); John Lloyd Cruz (Star Cinema’s Close to You); Sid Lucero (Donsol); Piolo Pascual (Don’t Give Up on Us); Dingdong Dantes (Eternity); Eddie Garcia (I Wanna Be Happy); Cesar Montano (CM Prod.’s Ligalig); Robin Padilla (Till I Met You); and Rustom Padilla (Zsa Zsa Saturnnah).

Lead Actress—Alessandra de Rossi (Barcelona); Bea Alonzo (Close to You); Angel Aquino (Donsol); Judy Ann Santos (Don’t Give Up on Us); Iza Calzado (Eternity); Maricel Soriano (Inang Yaya); Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Gina Pareño (Kubrador); Claudine Barretto (Sukob); and Regine Velasquez (Till I Met You).

Supporting Actor—Tommy Abuel (Don’t Give Up on Us); Jaime Fabregas (Eternity); Domingo Landicho (Kubrador); Johnny Delgado (Ligalig); Paolo Contis (Pamahiin); Archie Adamos (Raket ni Nanay); Rafael Rosell (Rome and Juliet); Ronaldo Valdez (Sukob); Eddie Garcia (Till I Met You); and Ariel Ignacio (Twilight Dancers).

Supporting Actress—Jaclyn Jose (Eternity); Tala Santos (Inang Yaya); Cherry Pie Picache (I Wanna Be Happy); Angel Aquino (Kaleldo); Eugene Domingo (Kapag Tumibok ang Puso); Gina Pareño (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo); Celia Rodriguez (Ligalig); Gloria Romero (Moments of Love); Jaclyn Jose (Pamahiin); and Ana Capri (Twilight Dancers).