Jan 07

The Quezon City Council has passed a resolution urging the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) to turn over management of the annual Metro Manila Film Festival to the film industry.

The resolution stressed: “It is but proper that the MMDA be relieved of its task of organizing the MMFF (which should be turned over) to Mowelfund (Movie Workers Welfare Foundation) and the Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) (whose members) are more qualified to run the filmfest because they are from the film industry themselves.”

The resolution was authored by Councilors Ramon Medalla, Anjo Yllana and Roderick Paulate and was introduced by Councilor Gian Sotto, son of Sen. Tito Sotto.

The City Council noted that MMDA has more urgent problems to solve like traffic management, garbage collection and other public service concerns.

The resolution emphasized that the MMDA is an outsider and “cannot relate to the real sentiments of people working with the industry”, adding that the MMDA charter does not mandate the agency to organize the annual filmfest.

The City Council also pointed out that the recent controversy of filmfest”s amusement tax rebates which were not given in full to the beneficiaries as specified by law makes this transfer of management timely.

Meanwhile, following is the complete list of winners in the 2013 MMFFP:

Best Picture: 10,000 Hours
2nd Best Picture: Girl Boy Bakla Tomboy
3rd Best Picture: My Little Bossings
Gatpuno Villegas Cultural Award: 10,000 Hours
FPJ Memorial Award for Film Excellence: 10,000 Hours

Best Director: Joyce Bernal (10,000 Hours)
Best Actor: Robin Padilla (10,000 Hours)
Best Actress: Maricel Soriano (Girl Boy Bakla Tomboy)
Best Supporting Actor: Pen Medina (10,000 Hours)
Best Supporting Actress: Aiza Seguerra (My Little Bossings)
Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon (My Little Bossings)
Best Screenplay: Ryllah Epifania Berico (10,000 Hours)
Best Original Story: Neil Arce, Peter Serrano and Boy2 Quizon (10,000 Hours)
Best Cinematography: Marissa Floriendo (10,000 Hours)
Best Make-up: Leslie Lucero (Pagpag… Siyam na Buhay)
Best Visual Effects: Central Digital (10.000 Hours)
Best Production Design: Joey Luna (10,000 Hours)
Best Musical Score: Teresa Barrozo (10,000 Hours)
Best Original Theme Song: Jan K. Ilacad (My Little Bossings)
Best Sound: Emmanuel Clemente (10,000 Hours)

Youth’s Choice Award: Pagpag… Siyam na Buhay
Gender-Sensitive Film (New Wave): Island Dreams, directed by Aloy Adlawan and Gino Santos
Gender Sensitive Film (Student Short):“Hintayin mo sa Seq. 24, directed by Jezreel Reyes
Gender Sensitive Award (Main Category) : Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
MMFF Best Float: Boy Golden


New Wave full-length Best Director: Armando Lao (Dukit)
New Wave full-length Best Actors: Wilfredo Layug, Bor Ocampo, Bambalito Lacap (Dukit)
Best Actress: Agot Isidro (Mga Anino ng Kahapon)
New Wave full-length Special Jury Prize winner: Mga Anino ng Kahapon
New Wave Animation Best Picture: Kaleh and Mbaki by Dennis Sebastian
New Wave Animation Special Jury Prize winner: Ang Lalong ni Kulakog by Omar Aguilar
New Wave Best Student Short Film: Ang Paglisan (La Salle Lipa)
New Wave Student Short Special Jury winner: No Filter by Luigi Rosario

Special Recognition Award: Ronnie Ricketts
MMFF Male Star of the Night: Daniel Padilla
MMFF Female Star of the Night: Eugene Domingo

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/