Sep 12
Editorial: FINALLY SILVER by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Sep 12, 2007

We are now preparing for the 25th anniversary of the annual Luna Awards (it was named such in 2005) and are just weeks away from the final month countdown before the silver anniversary version unfolds at the SM’s Mall of Asia on October 20.

Preparations are focused on two things—the pre-production of the awarding ceremonies and the editorial and ad-solicitation work for the souvenir program that will be distributed free on awards night.

In both fronts, we face a race against time.

But for the first time in years, it seems that the holding of the Luna Awards will be an inclusive undertaking of the Film Academy of the Philippines—unlike in 2004 and 2005 when it was produced by Albert Martinez’s Big Mango Productions and in 2006 by Eight Elephants Productions of Harlene Bautista and Romnick Sarmenta.

This year, initial indications point to the fact that Mr. Wilson Tieng’s Solar Entertainment Corporation will produce the awards night, backstopped by guild members to form the production staff—from director and scriptwriter to production assistant and floor director.

And what a flurry of activities has this development fostered among the academy’s many working guilds and producers’ associations. The time for watching the preparation on everything on the sidelines has indeed ended. Guild officers and members are now in the thick of things, unlike in previous years when members were merely playing jurors of their peers—the citers, nominators and voters who determined the past years’ outstanding achievers.

The battle cry is action aged and FAP leaders wasted no time to get things going. In the last board of governors’ meeting, eight film personalities—three of them departed—will be honored and granted special awards.

Action star-producer Rudy Fernandez and Director Celso A. Castillo will receive this year’s FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award. The lifetime achievement award was named after the late King of Philippine Cinema in 2005 and Producer Manay Marichu Maceda was the first recipient. Last year, the FPJ awardees were komiks novelist-scriptwriter Pablo S. Gomez and Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr.

The special recognition awards—now named as the Manuel de Leon Awards—will be given to Ms. Charo Santos-Concio of ABS-CBN; Wilson Tieng of Solar Entertainment Corporation; and Cirio Santiago of Premiere Productions.

The posthumous awards—named the Lamberto Avellana Memorial Awards—will be granted to Actor-Director Manuel Conde, Consummate Actor Vic Silayan and Sound Technician Flaviano Villareal.

On all fronts, things will soon be buzzing. For a change, a lot of academy officers and members will be playing equally important roles in mounting this year’s silver anniversary of the Luna Awards.

We are all in this together. Success or failure depends on us at last. Time is really like quicksilver. It seemed that it was only a few years ago that the Academy was created through an executive order. Now we are about to hold the 25th version of the Luna Awards.

And what makes this year’s awards exhilarating is not the fact that it is the 25th year milestone. It is the fact that we are all in this together that makes this Luna Awards night something memorable and for the books.

Let us all make this year’s awards truly and glittery silver…as in silver screen.