Aug 08
CINEMALAYA 2013 WINNERS HERE by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Thu, Aug 8, 2013

Gov. Vilma Santos led the winners in three categories of the 9th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival awards rites held at the Nicanor Abelardo theater of the Cultural Center of the Philippines last Sunday, August 4.

The five-man panel of jurors, led by Directors Peque Gallaga and Carlitos Siguion-Reyna, declared the three best films to be Sana Dati, directed by Jerrold Tarog.

In the Directors’ Showcase, Transit, directed by Hannah Espia in the New Breed, and The Houseband’s Wife, directed by Paolo O’Hara in the Short Features.

Sana Dati and Transit won eight and ten awards respectively.

The complete list of winners is as follows:

Directors’ Showcase
Best Film – Sana Dati 8 trophies
Direction – Jerrold Tarog (Sana Dati)
Actress – Vilma Santos (Ekstra)
Actor – No winner
Supporting Actress – Ruby Ruiz (Ekstra)
Supporting Actor – TJ Trinidad (Sana Dati)
Best Screenplay – Zig Dulay/Antoinette Jadaone/Jeffrey Jetturian (Ekstra)
Best Cinematography – Mackie Galvez (Sana Dati)
Best Prod Design – Ericson Navarro (Sana Dati)
Best Editing – Patts Rano (Sana Dati)
Best Original Score – Jerrold Tarog as Roger TJ Ladro* (Sana Dati)
Best Sound – Jerrold Tarog as Roger TJ Ladro* (Sana Dati)
Netpac Award – Ekstra
Audience Choice Award – Ekstra Special Jury Prize – Ekstra

Sana Dati, which stars Paulo Avelino, Lovi Poe, Benjamin Alves, Ria Garcia, and TJ Trinidad is a love story about a woman whose wedding is thrown into disarray when a mysterious person arrives and reminds her of the man she really loves. .

Ekstra (The Bit Player) was directed by Jeffrey Jeturian and stars Ms. Vilma Santos, Marlon Rivera, Vincent de Jesus, Ruby Ruiz, Tart Carlo, with the special participation of Piolo Pascual, Pilar Pilapil, Cherie Gil, Cherry Pie Picache, Richard Yap, and Marian Rivera

The film follows a seemingly usual day in the life of Loida Malabanan, a film extra going through another shooting day of a soap opera. The film provides a glimpse of the latent exploitation on the marginalized lfilm talents like Loida.

New Breed Category
BestFilm – Transit
Direction – Hannah Espia (Transit)
Actress – Irma Adlawan (Transit)
Actor – Mimi Juareza (Quick Change)
Supporting Actress – Jasmine Curtis-Smith (Transit)
Supporting Actor – Joey Paras (Babagwa)
Screenplay – Eduardo Roy (Quick Change)
Cinematography – Ber Cruz (Transit)
Production Design – Roy Red (Rekorder)
Editing – Benjamin Tolentino/Hannah Espia (Transit)
Original Music Score – Mon Espia (Transit)
Sound – Michael Idioma (Quick Change)
Netpac Award – New Breed Category – Transit
Special Jury Prize – Quick Change
Special Jury Citation – Whole Cast of Transit
Audience Choice Award – Transit

Transit, which stars Jasmine Curtis Smith, Ping Medina, Irma Adlawan, Mercedes Cabral, and Marc Justine Alvarez, tells the story of Moises, a Filipino single-dad working as a caregiver in Herzliya, Israel, who comes home to his son Joshua’s 4th birthday. It was on that day that Moises, together with their Filipino neighbors, Janet and her daughter Yael, find out that the Israeli government is going to deport children of foreign workers. Afraid of the new law, Moises and Janet decide to hide their children from the immigration police by making them stay inside the house.

Quick Change, written and Directed by Eduardo Roy, Jr. and stars Mimi Juareza as Dorina who believes she is a lady incarcerated inside a male body. Engaged in an illegal cosmetic surgery business, Dorina is a mother figure to her eight year old nephew and a devoted wife to Uno. She truly feels that she is one lucky woman until Uno falls in love with another transvestite.

Babagwa (The Spider’s Lair), written and directed by Jason Paul C. Laxamana, tells the story of an internet scammer falls in love with a rich old maid while trying to swindle her using a fake Facebook profile.

Rekorder, directed by Mikhail Red is about a former 1980′s film cameraman who now currently works as a movie pirate operating in present day Manila. He routinely smuggles a digital camcorder into movie theaters in order to illegally record films. One night he records something else… And the footage goes viral.

Best Film – The Houseband’s Wife
Direction – John Eric Tiglao (Onang)
Best Screenplay – Paolo O’Hara (the Houseband’s Wife)
Audience Choice Award – Taya
Special Jury Prize – Taya
Special Jury Citation – Sa Wakas

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at