Jul 03
AMPAS TAPS FAP ANEW FOR RP FILM ENTRY TO OSCAR by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Jul 3, 2013

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) once again invited the Film Academy of the Philippines to submit the official Philippine entry to the best foreign-language category of the Oscars next year.

Since the year 1996, a FAP special committee has been selecting the country’s annual entry to the Oscars.

FAP Director-General Leo G. Martinez announced that Director Peque Gallaga has accepted the Academy’s invitation to take the place of National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero, the special committee chairman when he passed away recently.

The seven members of the special committee which Director Gallaga will join are the following: Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, FAP deputy director-general; Director Jose N. Carreon, secretary of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc.; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association;

Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines; Director Elwood Perez; and Actress-Directress Gina Alajar of the Actors’ Guild.

Oscar Award rules for the best foreign language film category stipulate that to qualify, the Philippine entry must have been commercially exhibited in the country for at least seven consecutive days during the period from October, 2012 to September, 2013. A Filipino must be in two of the three capacities as film producer, director or scriptwriter.

The special committee will draw up a short list of Filipino films they will consider, including films booked for September.

AMPAS requires the submission of the list of the selection committee members not later than 5 p.m. of August 1, 2013. It also gives an October 1, 2013 deadline for the submission of the following:

Official entry form completed by the Selection Committee
Official entry form completed by the selected film’s producer
Synopsis in English
Cast and production credits
Advertisement of the film’s commercial theatrical run
Director’s biography and photograph
Film print or DCP

The FAP committee submitted the following films as our entry to the foreign language film category of the Oscar Awards since 1996:

Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna (1996)

Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1997)

Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1998)

Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil Portes (1999)

Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos (2000)

Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil Portes (2001)

Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed by Gil Portes (2002)

Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono (2003)

Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily (2004);

Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureus Solito (2006)

Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix (2007)

Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia (2008)

Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio (2009)

Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos (2010)

Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (2011) directed by Marlon Rivera

Bwakaw (Cinemalaya/APT Entertainment) directed by Jun Lana (2012).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/