Mar 06
FIVE SINE PANITIK AUTHORS GET ROYALTIES by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Wed, Mar 6, 2013

Five of the seven Filipino authors whose short stories were adapted into winning screenplays in the Sine Panitik Scriptwriting Contest already received P35,000 each in royalty (less 10% withholding tax) as of March 6.

Receiving the royalties were (top) Fanny Garcia; Maria Luna Sicat-Cleto (for Rogelio Sicat); (bottom) Mariam Soraya P. Tuvera (for Kerima Polotan Tuvera); Gregorio Brillantes; and Jun Cruz Reyes.

The three authors who are still alive and the heirs of the two others who personally received their checks were the following:

Fanny A. Garcia for her short story Sandaang Damit which was adapted by winning scriptwriter Therese Anne Cayaba:

Jun Cruz Reyes for his short story Utos ng Hari which was adapted by winning scriptwriter Antonio Pelon Jr.:

Gregorio Brillantes for his short story Faith, Love, Time and Dr. Lazaro which was adapted by winning scriptwriter Jeffrey P. Yap:

Kerima Polotan Tuvera (as represented by Mariam Soraya P. Tuvera) for her short story The Virgin which was adapted by winning scriptwriter Jeffrey P. Yap;

Rogelio R. Sicat (as represented by Maria Luna Sicat Cleto) for his short story Tata Selo which was adapted by winning scriptwriterJulie L. Po.

The heirs of two female authors are expected to receive the royalties. They are Estrella Alfon for her short story Magnificence which was adapted by winning scriptwriter Helen V. Lasquite and Genoveva Matute for her short story Bangkang Papel which was adapted by winning scriptwriter Raynier C. Avecilla.

Sine Panitik is a joint project of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and the Film Academy of the Philippines to adapt into films the rich treasure trove of Filipino literary masterpieces.

The NCCA committed P460,000 in support for the scriptwriting portion of the project. The NCCA has already released to the Academy the first two tranches of its subsidy—amounting to P138,000 and P276,000, respectively.

The first tranche was spent to provide the cash prizes for the seven winning screenplays which were given to the winners last October 9 and also took care of the honoraria of the three jurors and a coordinator of the contest. The second tranche now covers royalties of the seven authors.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at