Feb 01
LUNA AWARDS CITERS: 8 MORE FILMS TO REVIEW by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Feb 1, 2013

Citers for the 31st Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines have finished previewing 12 films, with eight more scheduled next week, and will come up with their list of 10 possible cited performances and works on or before February 16.

Five citers each from the nine guilds under the FAP umbrella have been viewing films last week and this week—most of which were rated either A or B by the Cinema Evaluation Board of the Film Development Council of the Philippines and exhibited commercially in 2012.

The 12 films already reviewed and their filmographies are the following:

Busong by Solito Aureus ( Rated A)—Starring Alessandra de Rossi. With Kanakan Balintagos and Henry Burgos (scriptwriters); Louie Quirino (cinematographer); Chuck Gutierrez (editor); Hai Balbuena (PD); Diwa de Leon (music and sound)

Mga Mumunting Lihim by Jose Javier Reyes (Rated A).—Starring Iza Calzado, Agot Isidro, Janice de Belen and Judy Ann Santos. With Jose Javier Reyes (scriptwriter); Rodolfo Aves Jr. (cinematographer); Vanessa Ubas de Leon (editor); Jay Custodio (PD); Jesse Lucas (music); Albert Michael Idioma and Addiss Tabong (sound).

A Mother’s Story by John D. Lazatin (Rated A)—Starring Pokwang, Nonie Buencamino, Xyriel Manabat, Daria Ramirez. With Senedy Que (scriptwriter); Shayne O. Sarte (cinematographer); Mitos Briones (editor); Elfren Vibar Jr. (PD); Dodjie Simon (music); Fred Ferraz (sound)

Bwakaw by Jun Lana (Rated A)—Starring Eddie Garcia, Rez Cortez, Luz Valdez, Armida Siguion-Reyna, Princess as Bwakaw. With Jun Lana (scriptwriter); Carlo Mendoza (cinematographer); Lawrence Ang (editor); Joey Luna (PD); Jema Pamintuan (music); Alex Tomboc (sound).

The Healing by Chito Roño (Rated A)—Starring Vilma Santos, Kim Chiu, Janice de Belen, Pokwang, Robert Arevalo. With Roy C. Iglesias (scriptwriter); Charlie S. Peralta (cinematographer); Jerrold Tarog (editor); Erick Torralba, Richard Somes and Fritz Silorio (PDs); Jerrold Tarog (music); Mike Idioma (sound).

The Reunion by Franco Mortiz (Rated B)—Starring Enchong Dee, Xian Lim, Enrique Gil, Kean Cipriano, Julia Montes, Megan Young, Bangs Garcia, With Ays de Guzman (scriptwriter); David Abaya (cinematographer); Marya Ignacio (editor); Winston Acuyong (PD); Cesar Francis Concio & Michael Abadam (music); Aurel Claro Bilbao (sound).

Unofficially Yours by Cathy Garcia-Molina (Rated B)—Starring John Lloyd Cruz and Angel Locsin. With Juan Miguel Sevilla (scriptwriter); Dan Villegas (cinematographer); Marya Ignacio (editor); Elfren Vibar (PD); Cesar Francis Concio (music); Aurel Claro Bilbao (sound).

The Mistress by Olivia Lamasan (Rated B)—John Lloyd Cruz, Bea Alonzo, Hilda Koronel, Ronaldo Valdez, Carmi Martin, Anita Linda. With Vanessa R. Valdez (scriptwriter); Hermann Claravall (cinematographer); Marya Ignacio (editor); Shari Marie Montiague (PD); Von de Guzman and Jessie Lasaten (music); Aurel Claro Bilbao (sound)

Corazon: Ang Unang Aswang by Richard Somes (Rated B)—Derek Ramsay, Erich Gonzales. With Richard V. Somes & Jerry Gracio (scriptwriters); Hermann Claravall (cinematographer); Borgy Torre & Angeli Laparan (editors); Armi Rae Cacanindin & Michael Espanol (PDs); Von de Guzman (music); Ditoy Aguila (sound).

Every Breath U Take by Mae Cruz (Rated B)—Starring Piolo Pascual, Angelica Panganiban, Ryan Eigenmann. With Mel Mendoza-del Rosario, Zig Marasigan & Anj Pessumal (scriptwriters); Manuel Teehankee (cinematographer); Marya Ignacio (editor); Winston Acuyong (PD); Teresa Barrozo (music); Aurel Claro Bilbao (sound).

My Kontrabida Girl by Jade Castro (Rated B)—Starring Aljur Abrenica, Rhian Ramos. With Jade Francis Castro & Aloy Adlawan (scriptwriters); Pao Orendain (cinematographer); Jeremiah Domingo (editor); Norman Regalado (PD); Orwel Alvero (music); Albert Michael Idioma & Addiss Tabong (sound).

Born to Love You by Jerome Chavez Pobocan (Rated B)—Starring Coco Martin, Angeline Quinto, Albert Martinez, Eula Valdez. With Rondell P. Lindayag (scriptwriter); Herman Claravall & Gary Garduce (cinematographers); Renewin Alano (editor); Nancy Arcega (PD); Francis Concio (music); Albert Michael Idioma (sound).

The citers’ selections will then be forwarded to the nominators who will come up with the final five nominees or less.

The nominators are given the period March 1 to 15 to come up with their nominees’ lists then the voters will view the films from April 8 to 19. The awards night is tentatively scheduled on April 28, a Sunday.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/