Sep 03
FAP OSCAR COMMITTEE MEETS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Sep 3, 2012

Six members of the special eight-man committee of the Film Academy of the Philippines which will choose the local film to vie for nomination to the best foreign language film category for the 85th Oscar Awards next year met last Friday, August 31.

Those who attended the initial meeting were: Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, FAP deputy director-general; Director Jose N. Carreon, secretary of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc.; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association;

Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines; and Director Elwood Perez.

The committee is chaired by National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero, and the eighth member is Actress/Directress Gina Alajar.

The committee hammered out a short list of Filipino films they will consider and agreed to also consider films booked for September. These films will be viewed but the committee will still ascertain if they are shown in commercial theaters for seven consecutive days.

Oscar Award rules for the best foreign language film category stipulate that to qualify, the Philippine entry must have been commercially exhibited in the country for at least seven consecutive days during the period from October, 2011 to September, 2012. A Filipino must be in two of the three capacities as film producer, director or scriptwriter.

Some of the films booked for September include Captive by Brillante Mendoza, Bwakaw by Jun Lana and Graceland by Ron Morales. They join a short list of films that had been exhibited—and mostly rated A by the Cinema Evaluation Board of the Film Development Council of the Philippines.

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows:

1996—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna
1997—Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Gil M. Portes
1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya
1999—Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil M. Portes
2000—Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos
2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil M. Portes
2002—Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed y Gil M. Portes
2003—Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono
2004—Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily
2005—no entry
2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureaus Solito
2007—Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix
2008—Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia
2009—Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio
2010—Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos
2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (Martinez Rivera Films/Quantum Productions) directed by Marlon N. Rivera

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at