Aug 28
FAP OSCAR COMMITTEE MEETS ON AUGUST 31 by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Aug 28, 2012

The special eight-man committee of the Film Academy of the Philippines which will choose the local film to vie for nomination to the best foreign language film category for the 85th Oscar Awards next year will meet on Friday, August 31.

The committee is expected to hammer out a short list of the films they will consider and review.

Oscar Award rules for the best foreign language film category stipulate that to qualify, the Philippine entry must have been commercially exhibited in the country for at least seven consecutive days during the period from October, 2011 to September, 2012. A Filipino must be in two of the three capacities as film producer, director or scriptwriter.

The committe is chaired by National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero, has the following incumbent members: Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, FAP deputy director-general; Director Jose N. Carreon, secretary of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc.; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association; Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines; Director Elwood Perez; and Actress/Director Gina Alajar.

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows:

1996—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna
1997—Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Gil M. Portes
1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya
1999—Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil M. Portes
2000—Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos
2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil M. Portes
2002—Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed y Gil M. Portes
2003—Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono
2004—Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily
2005—no entry
2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureaus Solito
2007—Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix
2008—Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia
2009—Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio
2010—Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos
2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (Martinez Rivera Films/Quantum Productions) directed by Marlon N. Rivera

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at