Jul 27
TENTATIVE SHORT LIST FOR RP FILM NOMINEE FOR 2013 OSCAR by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 27, 2012

The special eight-man committee of the Film Academy of the Philippines which will choose the local film to vie for nomination to the best foreign language film category for the 85th Oscar Awards next year will review seven films the Cinema Evaluation Board gave the A rating during the October, 2011-July, 2012 period.

But the committee will also consider other films will get an A rating and will be commercially exhibited in August and September this year.

Oscar Award rules for the best foreign language film category stipulate that to qualify, the film must have been commercially exhibited for at least seven consecutive days during the period from October, 2011 to September, 2012.

As of July, the seven films in the short list are the following: Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa (shown on October 26, 2011); Manila Kingpin: Asiong Salonga Story (Dec. 25, 2011); Segunda Mano (Dec. 25, 2011); A Mother’s Story (Jan. 8, 2012); The Witness (Mar. 21, 2012); Captive (scheduled for a Sept. 5, 2012 playdate); and Busong (commercial run still to be certified).

The committee, which is chaired by National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero , has the following incumbent members: Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, FAP deputy director-general; Director Jose N. Carreon, secretary of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc.; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association;

Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines; Director Elwood Perez; and Actress/Director Gina Alajar.

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows:

1996—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna

1997—Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Gil M. Portes

1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya

1999—Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil M. Portes

2000—Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos

2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil M. Portes

2002—Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed y Gil M. Portes

2003—Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono

2004—Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily

2005—no entry

2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureaus Solito

2007—Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix

2008—Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia

2009—Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio

2010—Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos

2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (Martinez Rivera Films/Quantum Productions) directed by Marlon N. Rivera

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/