Jul 20
30TH LUNA AWARDS: PERISCOPING THE CITERS’CHOICES by Jose N. Carreon  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jul 20, 2012

The citers for the 30th Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines, which will be held on August 26 at the Quezon City Sports Club, had finally come out with their short list of possible nominees in the 12 awards categories.

It is now the nominators’ turn to trim down the citers’ choices to their list of final nominees. Scanning the final lists of the citers’ choices, it is again immediately apparent that younger and newer talents from direction to sound as well as the four categories of performances are vying for the Luna trophies which was also the case last year.

Let us run through the citers’ short lists one by one.

Best Direction

The citers’ choices are Ruel S. Bayani (No Other Woman); Joyce Bernal (Segunda Mano); Jade Castro (Zombanding: Patayin sa Shokot si Remington); Jun Lana (My Neighbor’s Wife); Jun Lana (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow); and Paul Soriano (Thelma).

All of those cited for direction will be a first-time nominee, except for Joyce Bernal who was nominated in for Don’t Give Up on Us in 2006.

Best Actor

The citers’ choices are Ryan Agoncillo (My Househusband); Paulo Avelino (Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa); Dingdong Dantes (Segunda Mano);
Martin Escudero (Zombading); Jeorge E.R. Estregan (Manila Kingpin: Asiong Salonga Story); Sam Milby (Forever and a Day); Derek Ramsay (No Other Woman); and Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr. (Panday 2)

Like in the director’s category, all eight possible nominees will be a first-time winner.

Best Actress

The critics’ choices are K. C. Concepcion (Forever and a Day); Anne Curtis (No Other Woman); Eugene Domingo (Ang Babae sa Septic Tank); Lovi Poe (My Neighbor’s Wife); Maja Salvador (Thelma); Judy Ann Santos (My Househusband); and Maricel Soriano (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow).

Of the seven cited actresses only Maricel Soriano is a previous winner—three trophies actually for Nasaan ang Puso (1997), Filipinas (2003) and Bahay Kubo (2007). Anne Curtis won a best supporting actress award for In Your Eyes (2010).

Best Supporting Actor

The citers’ choices are Jake Cuenca (My Neighbor’s Wife); Roderick Paulate (Zombading); John Regala (Manila Kingpin: Asiong Salonga Story); John Regala (Zombading); Jericho Rosales (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow); Phillip Salvador (Panday 2); Dennis Trillo (My Neighbor’s Wife); and Roi Vinzon (Manila Kingpin: Asiong Salonga Story).

The only previous winners in this short list are Phillip Salvador who won the best actor award seven times already—for Cain and Abel (1982l), Kapit sa Patalim (1985),Balweg, the Rebel Priest (1987), Boy Negro (1988), Masahol Pa sa Hayop (1993), Ka Hector (1994) and Hangga’t May Hininga (1996)—and the best supporting actor award for Baler in 2008 and Dennis Trillo who was best actor for Aishite Imasu 1941 in 2004.

Best Supporting Actress

The citers’ choices are Tetchie Agbayani (Thema); Carla Abellana (My Neighbor’s Wife); Eugene Domingo (My Househusband); Agot Isidro (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow); Angelina Kanapi (Zombading);Liza Lorena (Presa); and Lovi Poe (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow).

There is only one previous winner and she is Liza Lorena who was actually the first ever best supporting actress winner in 1982 for Oro, Plata, Mata.

Best Screenplay

The citers’ choices are Kriz G. Gazmen and Jay Fernando (No Other Woman); Agnes de Guzman and Adolf Alix Jr. (Presa); Roy Iglesias and Rey Ventura (Manila Kingpin); Jun Lana and Denoy Navarro Punio (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow); Chris Martinez (Ang Babae sa Septic Tank); Froilan Medina and Paul Soriano (Thelma); Joel Mercado (Segunda Mano) and RJ Nuevas (Panday 2)

All in all, 11 scriptwriters are included in the citers’ short list. Only Roy Iglesias won a previous trophy for Baler in 2008.

Best Cinematography

The citers’ choices are Rodolfo Aves Jr. (My Househusband); Odyssey Flores (Thelma); Yam Laranas (The Road); Larry Manda (Ang Babae sa Septic Tank); Charlie S. Peralta (No Other Woman);Charlie Peralta (Segunda Mano); Daniel ‘Toto’ Uy (Panday 2); Dan Villegas (Forever and a Day); Alvin Viola (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow); and Moe Zee (My Neighbor’s Wife).

Charlie Peralta had already won twice—for Nasaan Ka Man in 2005 and figured in a tie for best cinematography for his work in Ploning with Lee Meily (Baler) in 2008.

Best Production Design

The citers’ choices are Aped Santos (Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa);Fritz Silorio and Mona Silorio (Manila Kingpin: Asiong Salonga Story); Richard Somes (Panday 2); and Nina Torres (Thelma)

There are also two previous winners Richard Somes for Exodus (2005) and Aped Santos for Baler (2008).

Best Editing

The citers’ choices are Jason Cahapay and Ryan Orduna (Manila Kingpin); Vito Cajili (No Other Woman); Chrisel Desuasido and Augusto Salvador (Panday 2); Marya Ignacio (Forever and a Day); Tara Illenberger (My Neighbor’s Wife); and Tara Illenberger (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow)

There are three trophy-holders in this category—Marya Ignacio for
Aishite Imasu 1941 (2004) and Nasaan Ka Man (2005); Vito Cajili for Malikmata (2003) and Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (2006) and Augusto Salvador who already has six Luna trophies to his name:namely for (Batuigas II: Pasukuin si Waway (1984),(Pinulot Ka Lang sa Lupa (1987),Lucio Margallo (1992), Masahol Pa sa Hayop (1993), Kahit Butas ng Karayom, Papasukin Ko (1995), and Eseng ng Tondo (1997).

Best Music

The citers’ choices are Archie Castillo (Thelma); Cesar Francis Concio (Forever and a Day); Vincent de Jesus (Ang Babae sa Septic Tank);
Jesse Lazaten (Manila Kingpin); Jesse Lucas (My Househusband);Jesse Lucas (My Neighbor’s Wife); and Raul Mitra (No Other Woman)

Only one of the six scorers cited has a Luna tucked under his arm,
Vincent de Jesus for Zsa Zsa Saturnah (2006) and Baler (2008).

Best Sound

The citers’ choices are Ditoy Aguila (Panday 2); Ditoy Aguila (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow); Aurel Bilbao (No Other Woman); Aurel Bilbao (Segunda Mano); Lamberto Casas and Albert Michael Idioma (Manila Kingpin); Albert Michael Idioma and Addiss Tabong (My Househusband); and Albert Michael Idioma and Addiss Tabong (Thelma).

There are three previous winners: Albert Michael Idioma for Malikmata (2003) and Feng Shui (2004); Addiss Tabong for Nasaan Ka Man (2005); and Ditoy Aguila for Ouija (2007) and Baler (2008).

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/