Jul 10
FAP COMMITTEE CHOOSES NOMINEE FOR 2013 OSCAR by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Tue, Jul 10, 2012

A special eight-man committee of the Film Academy of the Philippines will choose the local film to vie for nomination to the best foreign language film category for the 85th Oscar Awards next year.

To qualify, the film must have been commercially exhibited for at least seven consecutive days during the period from October 2011 to September 2012.

In a letter sent thru the FAP website, Torene Svitil, awards office department head of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, officially invited the Film Academy to submit for consideration a Filipino film for the Oscar’s annual Foreign Language Film award.

Svitil advised the Academy to submit a list of the selection committee members on August 1, 2012. The other requirements which must be submitted by October 1, 2012 are the following:

–Official Entry Form 1 (completed and signed by the chairperson of the selection committee
–Official Entry Form 2 (completed by the members of the selection committee)
–Official Entry Form 3 (completed by the producer of the selected film)
–Synopsis of the selected film in English
–Cast and production credits of selected film
–Advertisement of selected film’s commercial theatrical run
–Biography and photo of selected film’s director
–Film print or DCP of selected film

The committee, which is chaired by National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero , has the following incumbent members: Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, FAP Deputy Director-General; Director Jose N. Carreon, Secretary of the Directors’ Guild of the Philippines, Inc.; Director William Mayo, President of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association;

Manny Morfe, President of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, President of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines; Director Elwood Perez; and Actress/Director Gina Alajar.

The committee will be going over a list of films rated A or B by the Cinema Evaluation Board of the Film Development Council of the Philippines during the prescribed period.

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows:

1996—Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna

1997—Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Gil M. Portes

1998—Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya

1999—Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil M. Portes

2000—Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos

2001—Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil M. Portes

2002—Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed by Gil M. Portes

2003—Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono

2004—Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily

2005—no entry

2006—Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureaus Solito

2007—Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix

2008—Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia

2009—Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio

2010—Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos

2011—Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (Martinez Rivera Films/Quantum Productions) directed by Marlon N. Rivera

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/