Jun 25
BOG Selects FAP Special Awardees by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Mon, Jun 25, 2012

The Board of Governors of the Film Academy of the Philippines chose during its June 25 meeting the special award winners for the 30th FAP Luna Awards which will be held on August 25.

The winners for the four special awards are the following:

Golden Reel Award—Dolphy

FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award—Director/Editor Augusto Salvador

Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievement—Director Jun Urbano

Lamberto Avellana Memorial (Posthumous) Award—Director Ben Feleo
—Cinematographer Joe Batac
—Director/Production Designer Don Escudero

Those who voted were Director General Leo G. Martinez; treasurer Manny Morfe (PDGP president); Senior Adviser Eddie Romero; MOWELFUND Executive Director Boots Anson-Roa; Joel Apuyan, ADPM president;

Josefino Cenizal, UFIMDAP chairman; Rez Cortez KAPPT chairman; William Mayo, PMPDA president; Jesus Navarro, UFEGP president; Rolando Ruta, MPASPI president; Isagani Sioson, FSC president;

Marivic Limbo, representing PMPPA president Orly Ilacad; Ramon Ramos, representing MPDAP president Wilson Tieng; and Lita Duguran, representing SGP president Isabel Sebullen.

Last year, the winners for the same set of awards were: Congresswoman Imelda Romualdez-Marcos (Golden Reel Award); Armida P. E. Siguion-Reyna (FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award); Romy Vitug (Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievement); and Chiquito and Paquito Diaz (Lamberto Avellana Memorial Posthumous Award).

In FAP history , only four awardees have received the Golden Reel Award. Aside from Rep. Marcos, the other three were President Corazon C. Aquino (1997); Fernando Poe Jr. (2002); and President Joseph Ejercito Estrada (2007).

The FAP lifetime achievement award was renamed in honor of FPJ in 2005 and the winners since then were the following: Marichu Maceda (2005); Ramon Revilla, Sr. and Pablo S. Gomez (2007); Rudy Fernandez and Celso Ad. Castillo (2007) and Boots Anson-Roa (2008). The winner last year was Ms Armida Siguion-Reyna.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/