Mar 31
PINOY HORROR FILMS by webmaster  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Mar 31, 2006

By Tante de Ramos

Movie trivia writer Tante de Ramos was challenged to write about old and modern Pinoy horror films without referring to his voluminous notebooks and he came up with this list which clearly shows that films from the past and the immediate present are the easiest to recall to mind. Here is his instant list of Pinoy horror classics:

El Diablo – The film was made decades ago, during the pre-war era and we know how long that has been. The film starred Leopoldo Salcedo, the Great Profile, as the main character in a movie that dwelt on the satanic or demonic.

Satur – Another diabolical horror movie based on a komiks novel written by the great Francisco V. Coching which was serialized in Pilipino Komiks. It again recounted how the devil assumed a human form and lived during the Spanishj era. The stars of the film included Manuel Conde who also became a great Filipino director who megged such classics as Genghis Khan and the Juan Tamad series, and Jaime dela Rosa, the younger half of the De La Rosa brothers (the other was Rogelio dela Rosa who became a senator) who graced movies during the 50s.

Taong Paniki – This also starred Jaime dela Rosa, a man by day and a bat by night horror flick, who wrought havoc on the townfolks. This film was produced by LVN Pictures, Inc.

Gabi ng Lagim – This was a radio serial and four of its more popular episodes were stitched together in one film. One of the stories starred the young Philippine Movie King Fernando Poe, Jr., Zaldy Zshornack and the other members of the Lo’ Waist Gang. Another story had former Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr., Cecilia Lopez, Myra Crisol and Rodolfo Cristobal in the cast. Another starred Myrna Delgado, Cielito Legaspi, Amado Cortez, Dencio Padilla and Vic Santiago. The last story had the following in the cast: Jose Romulo, Yolanda Guevarra, Marietta Miranda, Paquito Diaz and Aida Villegas. The film was produced by Larry Santiago Productions, Inc. with four directors handling the episodes: Felix Villar, Tommy C. David, Pablo Santiago and Larry Santiago.

Ibulong Mo Sa Hangin – This award-winning horror film was topbilled by Amalia Fuentes and Romeo Vasquez reel and real sweethearts. It was produced by AM Productions of Amalia Fuentes.

Anak ng Aswang – This horror movie starred by young teenaged idols Vilma Santos (now Lipa mayor) and Edgar Mortiz (an ABS-CBN director). The cast also included was Gloria Romero. The film was produced by Vera Perez of Sampaguita Pictures, Inc.

Impakto – Made in 1996 and directed by Don Escudero, the film starred Gelli de Belen. Mother Lily of Regal Films, Inc. gave the go-signal to the project.

Patayin Sa Sindak si Barbara – This film was madw twice. The first was direc ted by Celso Ad. Castillo and the remake was megged by Chito Roñ. The original featured Susan Roces while the remake starred Lorna Tolentino, Dawn Zulueta, Tonton Gutierez, Amy Austria and Antoinette Taus. The remake was produced by Star Cinema.

Kulimlim – An entry to the Manila Film festival of Mayor Lito Atienza, this film starred Robin Padilla, Tanya Garcia, Ryan Eigenman, Marky Lopez, Bong Hilario, Omar of the Masculados, Ronaliza Cheng and Joshua Dionisio. It was directed by Maryo J. delos Reyes for producer Vic del Rosario of Viva Films, Inc. This was a story of multiple possession.

D’ Anothers – Based on an award-winning screenplay, this film starred Vhong Navarro, John Pratts, Joross Gamboa, Roxanne Guinoo and Toni Gonzaga. It was directed by Joyce Bernal for Star Cinema ABS–CBN Productions, Inc. The story concerned a man’s odyssey to help a group of dead people stranded on earth to search for the gates that will lead them to the other world.

Bahay ni Lola – An ancestral house where the previous owner, the lola of the film, still haunted becomes the main venue for a horror flick that feels the confines of a horror house. It starred Gloria Romero, Manilyn Reynes, Aiza Seguerra and a cast of young stars. This was another production of Mother Lily of Regal Entertainment, Inc. which has churned out numerous Pinoy horror flicks.

Pagkagat ng Dilim – A horror-suspense thriller, this film starred Aleck Bovick, Catherine Luna and Jay Manalo. This was written by Armando ‘Bing’ Lao and directed by Jeffrey Jeturian for producer Atty. Gandioso Manalo of Angora Films.

Spirit of the Glass – Among the three top grosser during the 2004 Metro Manila Film Festioval Philip[pines, this film starred Rica Peralejo, Marvin Agustin, Dingdong Dantes and Alessandra de Rossi, Paolo Contis, Ciara Sotto, Ana Capri, Mark Gil, Jay Aquintana, Jake Cuenca and introducing Drew Arellano. It was produced by Octoarts Films and directed by Jose Javier Reyes.

Sigaw – This film was cited for editing, sound design and the performance of child actress Ella Guevarra. The cast also include Richard Gutierrez, Angel Locsin, Jomari Yllana, Izza Calzado and Ronnie Lazaro. This was a co-production of Regal Entertainment Inc. and Megavision Films. This was directed by cinematographer-turned-director Yam Laranas.

Feng Shui – Directed by Chito Roño for Star Cinbema, this movie starred Kris Aquino, Jay Manalo who played the parents of a family trapped in a house haunted by dead people.

Ispiritista – One of the horror-comedy genres that up to now is preferred by a majority of Pinoy moviegoers, this movie starred Vic Sotto, who plays a fake medium who can contact the spirits of dead people through séances and eventually finds himself trapped with his assistants in a haunted house swarming with spirits, benevolent and otherwise. This also featured Cindy Kurleto and introduced BJ ‘Tolits’ Forbes. In the cast also were Robert Arevalo, Jean Saburit, Antonio Aquintania, Jonee Gamboa, Soxy Topacio, Redford White, Allan K, Gladys Guevarra, Rudy Meyer, Teri Onor, Jose Manalo and Wally Bayola. Special guests are Izza Cazaldo, Keempee de Leon, Marissa Delgado, Dick Israel, Jacky Woo, Mae Akizuki, Abigail Arazo and Kookoo Gonzales. This was directed by Tony Y. Reyes for Regal Entertainment, Inc and APT Entertainment Inc.

Kutob – The 2005 MMFFPA Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas award. This film won for Marvin Agustin the best actor award. The film included a bevy of stars in the cast: Rica Peralejo, Marvin Agustin, Alessandra de Rossi and Ryan Agoncillo. Also starring Andrea del Rosario, Ana Capri, James Blanco and Liza Lorena. This was directed by Jose Javier Reyes (who also won the best director award) for Canary Films, a sister company of OctoArts Films.

Shake Rattle & Roll 2K5 – Another 2005 MMFFP entry, this is actually the seventh in the Shake, Rattle & Roll series. A movie trilogy this included three episodes directed by different directors: Uro dela Cruz, Richard Somes and Rico Maria Ilarde. Poso starred Gloria Romero, Yasmien Kurdi, Rainier Castillo, Marco Alcaraz, Biboy Ramirez, Jenine Desiderio and AiAi delas Alas. Aquarium starred Ogie Alcasid, Ara Mina, Wilma Doesn’t, Reggie Curley, and Paul Salas who bagged the best child performer award. Lihim starred Mark Anthony Fernandez, Tanya Garcia, Elizabeth Oropesa, Noni Buencamino and Ronnie Lazaro and Mark Anthony Fernandez.