Mar 10
MMFFP 2006 LAUNCHED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Mar 10, 2006

The 2006 version of the Metro Manila Film Festival Philippines was officially launched by MMDA Chairman Bayani Fernando on Friday, March 10 at the Wack Wack Golf and Country Clubhouse.

With a record high gross of P351.9 million last year, Chairman Fernando set an ambitious P500 million gross for this December’s filmfest. He also announced that there will be some changes in the next filmfest. He mentioned such changes will include the showing of the 10 entries simultaneously starting on Christmas Day.

All entries will be chosen based on screenplays which the festival execom will require to be submitted on or before April 30, 2006. He added that there would be new faces in the board of readers who will judge the submitted screenplays.

The launching was held together with the awarding of cash incentives to the 10 participating films and cash awards for the individual winners of last year’s festival.

The cash incentives actually totaled P1,750,000 for each of the 10 entries. Checks for one million pesos each were initially handed to the producers by President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo during the awards night at the Aliw theater on Roxas blvd. early this year.
The balance of P750,000 was given last Friday.

During the dual-purpose program, Chairman Fernando found the occasion to express his gratitude for the support given to the festival by the producers themselves, the theater owners, the print and broadcast media and the mayors of the 17 cities and towns of Metro Manila. In fact, Mr. Henry Sy of SM Holdings Inc. was conferred a Lifetime Achievement Award by the MMFFP.

Those who delivered speeches during the occasion, aside from Chairman Fernando, were Mr. Ric Camaligan, VP for Entertainment and Food, SM Holdings Inc. and new president of the Motion Pictures Anti-Film Piracy Council of the Philippines; Mr. Jun Nicdao of the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas; Mrs. Alice Reyes, vice-president of the National Press Club; and Atty. Espiridion Laxa, Chairman of the Film Academy of the Philippines.

Aside from the incentives, best picture winner Blue Moon of Regal Entertainment Inc. received P850,000; second best picture winner Exodus of Imus Productions and Reality Entertainment Inc., P500,000; and third best picture winner Kutob of Canary Films, P300,000. Kutob also won P500,000 for garnering the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Award.

Four individual category awards brought P100,000 each for best director Joey Javier Reyes for Kutob, best actor Marvin Agustin for Kutob, best actress Zsa Zsa Padilla for Ako Legal Wife and best scriptwriter Alan Tijano for Blue Moon.

The other individual awardees were given P50,000 each. These included best supporting actor Jose Manalo for Enteng Kabisote, best actress Cherrie Pie Picache for Ako Legal Wife, best storywriter Alan Tijano for Blue Moon, best cinematographer Lyle Sacris for Exodus, best production designer Richard Somes for Exodus, best musical scorer Jimmy Fabregas for Kutob, and best visual effects done by Ignite Media Inc. for Exodus.

The emcees for the program were Ms. Boots Anson-Roa, executive director of Mowelfund, and singer-comedian George Javier. The musical numbers were rendered by Rachel Alejandro, Aliyah, Bimbo Cerrudo and George Javier.

The program was directed by Director Felix Dalay and produced by Mimac Inc.