Feb 24
2012 MMFF-P LAUNCHED by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Feb 24, 2012

MMDA Chairman Francis N. Tolentino officially launched the 2012 Metro Manila Filmfest at the roof deck of the EMAR Suites Event Hall on 1409 Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong on Thursday, February 23.

Tolentino announced that the deadline for the submission of complete scripts as entries will be May 23 with the announcement of winning scripts to be held on June 5, 2012.

An appreciation dinner for the 2011 Metro Manila Filmfest was also held to hand out cash awards to last December’s filmfest winners.

The share from the amusement tax rebate of five beneficiaries were also distributed. The beneficiaries are MOWELFUND, the Film Academy of the Philippines, the Motion Picture Anti-Film Piracy Council. the Film Development Council of the Philippines and the Optical Media Board.

Cash awards, meanwhile, were handed out to the winners of the last filmfest. The major winners attended the affair, including best actor Dingdong Dantes (Segunda Mano); best actress Maricel Soriano (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow); best supporting actor John Regala (Manila Kingpin: The Asyong Salonga Story); best supporting actress Eugene Domingo (My House Husband); and best child performer Bugoy Carino (Shake, Rattle & Roll).

The other winners were:

Best Picture—Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story of Scenema Concepts International and Viva Films
Gatpuno Villegas Cultural Award—Manila Kingpin
Quezon City Gender Sensitivity Award—My House Husband of OctoArts Films
2nd Best Picture—Enteng ng Ina Mo of Star Cinema and M-Zet Films
3rd Best Picture—Shake, Rattle & Roll 13 of Regal Entertainment Inc.
Best Director—Manila Kingpin
Best Child Performer—Bugoy Carino (Shake, Rattle & Roll 13)
Best Screenplay—Roy Iglesias and Rey Ventura (Manila Kingpin)
Best Story—Chris Martinez and Marlon Rivera (Shake, Rattle & Roll 13)
Best Cinematography—Carlo Mendoza (Manila Kingpin)
Best Original Theme Song—La Paloma by Ely Buendia (Manila Kingpin)
Best Musical Score—Jessie Lasaten (Manila Kingpin)
Best Editing—Jason Canapay and Ryan Orduna (Manila Kingpin)
Best Visual Effects—Riot Inc. (Panday 2)
Best Make-up—Florencia, Nicandro Medina and Jayver Flores (Enteng ng Ina Mo)
Best Float—Panday 2
Best Indie Film—Pintakasi
New Wave Best Actor—JM de Guzman (Pintakasi)
New Wave Best Actress—Isa Calzado (HIV)
New Wave Gender Sensitivity Award—HIV (feature length) Speechless of Miriam College
Best Student Films—Payaso (De La Salle Lipa) and Mate (Letran)
Special Special Jury Award—Biyahe ni Barbie (De la Salle St. Benilde)

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at www.filmacademyphil.org/forum/