Jun 02
NOMINEES FOR LUNA AWARDS 2006 UP FOR DELIBERATION by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jun 2, 2006

The nominators of the Film Academy of the Philippines’ various guilds will deliberate and come up with the final list of nominees for this year Luna Awards.

The eight panels of nominators will meet at 2 p.m. on Thursday, June 29, 2006 at the FAP offices at the OctoArts building on Panay avenue, Quezon City.

Up for deliberation will be the final list of nominees for this year’s Luna Awards in the following categories– best actor and actress, best supporting actor and actress, screenplay, direction, scoring, production design, editing, cinematography and sound recording.

The nominators will fine comb through several cited films in picking up the final nominees (at least five for each category). The citer’s groups had trimmed down a short list which the nominators will deliberate upon.

Sixteen films were cited for performances. The cited films are broken down as follows:direction—10 films; screenplay—10; Cinematography—12; production design—12; editing—12; sound—13; and musical scoring—9.

The list of nominators follows:

Performances—Chanda Romero, Liza Lorena, Dawn Zulueta, Robert Arevalo, Bembol Roco, Gina Alajar, Romnick Sarmenta and Harlene Bautista.

Direction—Mel Chionglo, Elwood Perez, William Mayo, Carlitos Siguion-Reyna and Celso Ad Castillo.

Screenplay—Eddie Romero, Jose Carreon, Manny Busing, Joen Chionglo and Lualhati Bautista.

Cinematography—Totoy Jacinto, Jun Perreira and Shayne Clemente.

Production Design—Benjie de Guzman, Egay Littaua, Joey Luna, Len Santos and Manny Morfe.

Editing—Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao, Ferren Salumbides, Ron Dale and Renewin Alano.

Sound—Rolly Ruta, Danny Lorilla, Nestor Mutia, Albert Rima and Ramon Reyes.

Musical Scoring—Blitz Padua, Willy Cruz, John Lesaca and Tony Cortez.

The voters, the final group in the three-tier system of choosing the Luna Award annual winners, will be previewing the films of the final nominees starting on August 14 at the UP Film Center.