Jan 20
THE PROCESS BEGINS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Jan 20, 2006

The cite-nominate-vote process of choosing the winners for the 2005 Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines officially began last Friday (January 20) as citers previewed the first two films which are in contention for this year’s awards.

The first phase of the new awards system, implemented last year though the FAP had a dry run of the system in 2004, will put the citers (10 each from the different guilds) on center stage as they try to winnow their selections from some 58 films exhibited last year to at least the best ten for each category.

Two other groups, the nominators and the voters, provide a three-tiered process for weaning out the best of the year. The nominators will trim down the citer’s choices to the final nominees (five or less) as per category. Then the voters will cast their ballots a few days before the awards night, scheduled for May 20. Peers will be the ones passing judgment on their peers, which can only happen in the Academy.

Based on the credible choices the FAP had come up in the last two awards nights, the FAP has apparently crafted a mechanism that ensures winners are really the most deserving, while at the same time eliminating subjective ratings by voters and lobbying.

Outstanding achievements will be recognized as usual in 11 categories, with the 12th category being for the year’s best picture. The categories are: direction, screenplay, cinematography, production design, editing, musical scoring, sound and performances (sub-divided further into lead actor, lead actress, supporting actor and supporting actress).

The first two films screened were Star Cinema’s Nasaan Ka Man, starring Claudine Barretto, Jericho Rosales, Diether Ocampo, Hilda Koronel and Gloria Diaz, and directed by Cholo Laurel; and Unitel Pictures’ La Visa Loca, starring Robin Padilla and Rufa Mae Quinto, directed by Mark Meily. Nasaan ka Man was rated B by the Cinema Evaluation Board while La Visa Loca was rated A.

On Monday, January 23, the films screened were Seiko Films’ Bikini Open, starring Francine Prieto and Diana Zubiri, directed by Jeffrey Jeturian (Rated B by CEB); and Star Cinema’s Dubai, starring Aga Muhlach and Claudine Barretto (Rated B by CEB).

On Friday, January 27, the films to be screened are: Star Cinema’s Dreamboy, starring Piolo Pascual and Bea Alonzo, directed by Gilbert Perez (Rated B by CEB); and GEE Ent. Productions’ Masahista, starring Coco Martin, Allan Paule and Katherine Luna, directed by Brilliante ‘Dante’ Mendoza.

The CEB gave ratings to 15 films last year. The A-rated films included: Viva Films’ Ilusyon, Cinemalaya’s Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros and GMA Films/Regal Entertainment’s Mulawin the Movie.

The other B-rated films were: GMA Films/Regal Entertainment’s Let the Love Begin, Star Cinema’s Can This Be Love?, Unitel Pictures’ Pinoy Blonde, MLR Films’ Mga Pusang Gala, Imus Films/Reality Entertainment’s Exodus, the Enchanted Kingdom, Regal Entertainment’s Ako Legal Wife, and Good Harvest’s Blue Moon.

These films will also be screened for the citers, as well as other films which were not rated either because they were not submitted to the CEB or failed to get favorable ratings.

The screenings are actually being previewed by citers who had not seen the films when they were shown last year. But a number of citers have already submitted their choices to the FAP secretariat.

The list of citers for this year is as follows (those who had submitted their choices are indicated by S in parenthesis):

Direction—Jose’ Kaka’ Balagtas, Felix Dalay (S), Bert Ortega (S), Baldo Marro (S), Neal ‘Buboy’ Tan (S), Tony Reyes, Maryo J. de los Reyes (S), Joey Romero, Romy Suzara and Emmanuel Borlaza.

Screenplay—Isabel Sebullen (S), Manny Rodriguez (S), Pablo Libiran (S), Serge Custodio (S), Enrico Villa (S), William Pascual (S), Joven Velasco (S) and Pablo S. Gomez (S).

Editing—Nonoy Santillan (S), Arcadio Vinarao (S), Patnubay Ramos (S), Rudy Tabotabo (S), Cornelio Crisostomo (S), Danilo Gloria (S), Ever Ramos (S), Jess Navarro, Reggie Gulle and Manet Dayrit.

Production Design—Randy Gamier (S), Edel Templonuevo (S), Larry Matic (S), John Portugal (S), Judy Lou de Pio (S), Joel Quilang (S), Noel Ribaya, Vic Villavicencio (S), Rico Ancheta, Manny Santos and Arthur Sta. Maria.

Sound—Amado Abellana, Elsa Abellana, Tony Benavidez, Noel Bruan, Nolet Clemente, Greg Ella, Mike Idioma, Salvador Mendoza, Arlene Roxas and Pacifico Sanchez.

Music—Mar Lopez (S), Pablo Vergara (S), Brando Juan, Jun Gaerlan (S), Josefino Cenizal, Olivia Cenizal, Von de Guzman (S), Gerdie Francisco, Carmina Cuya and Vincent de Jesus.

Cinematography—Roger Estrada (S), Marissa Floirendo (S), Leodigario Dalawis Jr. (S), Arnold Alvaro (S), Marcos Rasca Jr. (S), Roger Baruelo, Ramon Marcelino, Romulo Araojo, Isagani Sioson, Lee Meily and Baby Cabrales.

The other citers who came from guilds which has no awards category are: Actors’ Workshop Foundations’ Rudy Meyer (S) and Sonny Alcantara (S); OSFILM’s Karl Collins Laxamana (S) and Zahn Garduce (S); ADPM’s Joel Apuyan (S), Tony Ramos, Dante Kabigting, Robert Abihay and Florante Dionisio; and KAPPT’s Hero Bautista (S).