Dec 16
FAMAS INDUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS by fapweb  |  Posted in Articles  |  on Fri, Dec 16, 2011

New members were inducted into the FAMAS board last December 9, 2011 in simple rites held in the Mowelfund compound in Rosario Drive, Quezon City.

The FAMAS (Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences), headed by its president Chit Sambile, affirmed its tradition of giving out statuettes for the upliftment of the quality of local movies. Their awarding is slated for February 2012.

While waiting for the arrival of former Philippine president Joseph Estrada: Marichu Maceda, Boots Anson Roa, Leo Martinez, Boy Vinarao, Rez Cortez

Guest of honor was former President Joseph Estrada who led in the induction of new members. President Erap expressed the wish that FAMAS would once again be united. He is aware of the presence of 2 FAMAS groups – one headed by Col. Jimmy Tiu and Chit Sambile, the other one headed by the son of the late Art Padua.

In her short talk, Marichu Maceda asked to be pardoned because she was to receive from the other FAMAS (headed by Eloy Padua) an award in behalf of her father Doc Perez.

FAP Director General Leo Martinez shared a bit of good news that some movies were earning good. And that perhaps this is a good sign for the industry so that producers will again invest in the local movies. He also reminded everyone to support the upcoming Metro Manila film festival.

The presidential table: President Joseph Estrada in a huddle with Marichu Maceda, FAMAS president Chit Sambile, Direk Boy Vinarao wearing black, Rez Cortez standing, FAP Director General Leo Martinez in a clapping motion and Boots Anson Roa with her back to the camera

Others who went to the podium were Mowelfund chair Boots Anson Roa and Direk Boy Vinarao who heads the Mowelfund training group while Rez Cortez led in the prayers.

Those inducted to the FAMAS board were: Film directors Edgardo “Boy” Vinarao, Jun Posadas, and William Mayo, Doc Toby Dollente, Emilio J. Aguinaldo, Nicolo Cosme, Emmanuel Franco Calairo, Larry Reyes, Ace Cruz and Felix Magat.

Induction by President Joseph Estrada, from left: Ace Cruz, Felix Magat, Larry Reyes, Prof. Emmanuel Calairo, Nicolo Cosme, Edgardo Boy Vinarao, Emilio J. Aguinaldo

The affair was ably hosted by Ace Cruz.

Unable to attend were film directors William Mayo who had to leave early for a previous appointment and Jun Posadas who was reportedly sick. Also absent was Doc Emilio “Toby” Dollente of Mowelfund.

Your FEEDBACK can be posted at